Page 1 of 1
Spawning a unit as empty
Posted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:00 am
by Vadam
I'm in the process of making a pack weapon for pilots that spawns a small unit for the pilot to escape in. I can get the unit to spawn, but I don't know how to make it spawn empty. I've tried fooling around with addPilot and needPilot in the unit odf but those didn't seem to work. I'm sure the answer is obvious and I'm missing something, so if anybody could tell me, that'd be great.
Re: Spawning a unit as empty
Posted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:22 am
by General BlackDragon
try not setting an aiName for it? That might work. Try aiName = NULL and aiName2 = NULL, though doing that might be a bit...dangerous.
Re: Spawning a unit as empty
Posted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 3:55 am
by bigbadbogie
classLabel = "objectspawn" class objects spawn empty units. Perhaps you could create a weapon that drops an 'objectspawn' (with lifeSpan = 0.1 so it only creates one empty unit and dies/is removed). ObjectSpawns create an endless stream of units otherwise, so it would be prudent to add lifeSpan = 0.1.
Examples of objectSpawn class objects can be found in data.pak under -> Weapons -> sp_powerups.
LifeSpan = 0.1 would go under [GameObjectClass] (less than lifeSpan = 0.02 wont function for some reason, so don't do that)
Re: Spawning a unit as empty
Posted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 4:21 am
by Vadam
Both methods worked. I'll stick with BBB's method since it spawns it on the ground, as opposed to directly on the pilot. Since that can be used to just infinitely self-destruct and keep going up when the pilot is in the air.
Re: Spawning a unit as empty
Posted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 4:30 am
by General BlackDragon
Yea BBB's method is better

Re: Spawning a unit as empty
Posted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 4:59 am
by bigbadbogie
Not having an AI process may cause the game to crash when an AI pilot enters it too.
Re: Spawning a unit as empty
Posted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 5:37 am
by Nielk1
I know in 1.2 there was a thing about having no AIProcess making the pilots instantly disappear when they got in. Now, in 1.3, it might prevent them from getting in, unsure. There should be flags to prevent AI pilots from entering the unit if you wish.
BBB's method is indeed by far the best.
Re: Spawning a unit as empty
Posted: Sun Jul 07, 2013 1:23 pm
by MrTwosheds