Page 1 of 1

Converting Strat maps to MPI

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 12:09 am
by Vadam
I have noticed Starfleet has a ton of new strat maps, but no new mpi maps. As somebody who pretty much only plays mpi, I'd like to convert all those maps into mpi maps (I'm still keeping the strat ones though). Problem is, I barely know anything about editing maps. I tried screwing around with .inf files to classify a map as mpi, but that didn't work. If somebody could explain the process of converting maps, that'd be great.

Re: Converting Strat maps to MPI

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 12:38 am
by Red Devil
i'm in the process of converting all the stock strat and ffa maps to IA and MPI - 157 total.

Re: Converting Strat maps to MPI

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 12:54 am
by Nielk1
Red Devil wrote:i'm in the process of converting all the stock strat and ffa maps to IA and MPI - 157 total.
I hope you are re-using the TER and not copying it.

Might it be better to just make a DLL capable of both modes?

Re: Converting Strat maps to MPI

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 4:06 am
by Red Devil
1. copied all maps/files to new folders
2. saved all maps in ascii format
3. renamed all maps/files externally
4. aligned all internal names to external names
5. set all internal dll calls to point to stock ia/mpi dll calls
6. added all ia/mpi path points, added more hold and stage points
7. copied all path points to maps
next: manually move all path points to semi-logical positions and save

Re: Converting Strat maps to MPI

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 5:04 am
by Nielk1
Did you copy the TER or not? You can have several maps refer to the same TER to my knowledge.

Re: Converting Strat maps to MPI

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:04 pm
by General BlackDragon
What N1 is asking is, do these new maps consist of only a .bzn and .inf file? they should, if they are a copy of another map.

When you do, say, ST rjx-Mars, you save it as say, rjs-mars_mpi.bzn and then open it and do this:

Code: Select all

msn_filename = rjx-mars_mpi.bzn
seq_count [1] =
1601
saveType [1] =
0
TerrainName = rjx-mars
You set the TerrainName to the original map, and it loads that terrain. As long as you don't alter the ground shape/textures/water/color/sky, you can re-use the same Terrain to save disk space. This points it to use rjx-mars .ter, .trn, .wat, and .sky files.

Re: Converting Strat maps to MPI

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 4:09 pm
by Red Devil
i have everything in one folder\subfolders right now with maps13 excluded in the startup cfg for the sake of convenience, but i can point all the bzn's to the stock files after i'm done.

Re: Converting Strat maps to MPI

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 4:26 pm
by Zero Angel
Nielk1 wrote:Did you copy the TER or not? You can have several maps refer to the same TER to my knowledge.
Reusing elements of existing maps is what I did with some of my VSR deathmatches. They basically create an inf (custom map settings) and bzn (map objects) but everything else uses the original volcano map assets (terrain, sky, etc)

Keep in mind that if its a third party map or map pack then you have to distribute the ter file anyways just to avoid having to have that map pack as a dependency.

Re: Converting Strat maps to MPI

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 4:31 pm
by Zero Angel
Vadam wrote:I have noticed Starfleet has a ton of new strat maps, but no new mpi maps. As somebody who pretty much only plays mpi, I'd like to convert all those maps into mpi maps (I'm still keeping the strat ones though). Problem is, I barely know anything about editing maps. I tried screwing around with .inf files to classify a map as mpi, but that didn't work. If somebody could explain the process of converting maps, that'd be great.
There are a few things you have to do to convert a map to MPI.

1) You must save it to use the MPI DLL (i think its mpinstant.dll). The map's DLL can be changed in the editor when you click the 'paths' button.

2) You must add appropriate path points. The path editor can be accessed by pressing shift-f9 while in the editor. You then use the menu 'edit path' to select/move/delete existing path points as well as to create new ones. To see an example of MPI path points, open an existing MPI map and use the paths editor to take a look at what kind of path points are being used (e.g. recycler, recyclerEnemy, staging01, etc). Create these path points on your own map.

Re: Converting Strat maps to MPI

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 1:39 am
by Vadam
I converted one map, it works for the most part. Problem is, sometimes my recycler and I spawn in the enemy's spawn zone, along with any starting units I may have selected. Their recycler is there also. Although, sometimes the map works perfectly and I spawn where I'm supposed to.

Re: Converting Strat maps to MPI

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 1:41 am
by Red Devil
that means you left an extra pspwn point on the other side - delete it and save.

Re: Converting Strat maps to MPI

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 2:06 am
by Vadam
Oh, I'm stupid. I thought that spawn was for the computer recycler. But I guess it spawns using the path point.