Page 1 of 2
How do you do morph reflections and building animations?
Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 12:33 am
by coxxon
How do you get the "reflection3.pic" texture to show up when a tank morphs? I built a morph tank, and it changes using the morph animation, but it doesn't show the reflection3 texture, and it doesn't appear (from what I've looked at in the old xsi models) that the texture is actually "placed" in the xsi file.
Is there any way to get the "loop" animation, or any animations to work with buildings other than power plants or scavengers?
Anybody gotten either of these two things to work? Thanks.
Re: How do you do morph reflections and building animations?
Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 12:34 am
by General BlackDragon
any unit or building can have a deploy and loop animation now.
Code: Select all
- Fix for mantis #2435. Added, to ODFs:
[GameObjectClass]
InitAnimation = ""
RunAnimation = ""
InitAnimIsLooped = false
RunAnimIsLooped = true
If the first two entries are not blank, it attempts to use them.
The last two entries are flags as to whether the anim is looped or
1-way; if the init anim is looped, I don't think it'll ever proceed to
the run anim. Note that certain classes (e.g. extractor) have their
own code that can act like this. Specifying these new parameters for
those classes could cause conflicts and is not recommended. Compiles
but is untested.
Special note: looking in the code, anything w/ a deploy anim
possible (including, but not limited to aircraft, construction rigs,
persons, scavengers/hoverscavs, service trucks/hover service, tracked
deployables (and derived like commvehicle, deploybuilding,
recyclervehicle), tugs, and turret tanks) wait for animations to cease
before state transitions are allowed. Thus, putting a RunAnimation,
especially a looped runanim, on them will probably prevent state
transitions. If you have problems, then don't put anims on those
units. [NM]
As for shiny scion morphing, dunno exactly.
Re: How do you do morph reflections and building animations?
Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 12:44 am
by Red Devil
seen these in ChangeLog_pb2.txt in the Extras\Changelog folder, coxxon?
[MorphTankClass]
AnimateChrome = true // *must* be false for below to take effect.
MorphAmbientR = 1.0 // All these RGBA values are 0.0 .. 1.0, not 0..255
MorphAmbientG = 1.0
MorphAmbientB = 1.0
MorphDiffuseR = 1.0
MorphDiffuseG = 1.0
MorphDiffuseB = 1.0
MorphEmissiveR = 0.0
MorphEmissiveG = 0.0
MorphEmissiveB = 0.0
MorphSpecularR = 0.0
MorphSpecularG = 0.0
MorphSpecularB = 0.0
MorphSpecularA = 1.0
MorphSpecularP = 0.0 // specular power
MorphTexture = "blah.tga" // Takes slight effect if specified when AnimateChrome = true. If not specified, uses the world's envTexture
Re: How do you do morph reflections and building animations?
Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 9:31 am
by MrTwosheds
Lol you could make a psychedelic morph tank...
Re: How do you do morph reflections and building animations?
Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 2:01 pm
by Mr_Scorpion
Anyone know how to get a morph effect like the one in this beta screenie?

Re: How do you do morph reflections and building animations?
Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 3:38 pm
by General BlackDragon
I see no morph effect in that screen shot.
Re: How do you do morph reflections and building animations?
Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:44 pm
by GSH
I see a lot of photoshopping multiple screen shots together for advertising. Please don't think of what you posted as necessarily achievable in the BZ2 engine on your box.
-- GSH
Re: How do you do morph reflections and building animations?
Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 11:53 pm
by Ded10c
That's an early Scion skin, not a morph effect.
Re: How do you do morph reflections and building animations?
Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2015 6:13 pm
by coxxon
General BlackDragon wrote:any unit or building can have a deploy and loop animation now.
Thanks for pointing that out.
GSH wrote:Please don't think of what you posted as necessarily achievable in the BZ2 engine on your box. -- GSH
Yes, afraid so.
I tried the odf animation code GSH made that GenBD posted, but I couldn't get it to work.
Using a comm bunker, and a new recy building xsi with 2 rotating objects, the object always loaded, and worked as the building should, but the animations never ran. (I also tried with the ibrecy and ibfact)
I tried multiple configurations and got nothing.

Any idears ...
Re: How do you do morph reflections and building animations?
Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2015 9:53 pm
by MrTwosheds
Do the animations actually work? is my first question, exporting them can be tricky.
http://www.bzscrap.org/downloads/Utilit ... lor155.exe
This version of 3dex will run an xsi animation, very useful for checking stuff out.
Re: How do you do morph reflections and building animations?
Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 12:54 am
by General BlackDragon
animCount = 1
animName1 = "loop"
animFile1 = "wvmufLP.xsi"
RunAnimation = "loop"
RunAnimIsLooped = true
assuming the anim exists
Re: How do you do morph reflections and building animations?
Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 4:30 pm
by coxxon
okay, you made me paranoid, so I looked at the anim in 3dexplorer, and it ran correctly.
BTW - is there any way to register that program any more? (the 5 file limit is getting on my nerves)
I had a reg ver 10+ years and several pc's ago, but my reg info is long lost.
Re: How do you do morph reflections and building animations?
Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 4:51 pm
by coxxon
Got it to work!
It seems to require separate, animated .xsi files (I was doing the orig testing with a single xsi file that contained the anim, for both the base geometry and a the animFile1 geom).
At any rate, (using the same recycler building model,) I got ibrecy, ibcbun, and ibfact to animate. (spinning radar dish and rotating bio-metal projector)

... now I gotta figure out what to do with the Scion buildings, and check out Red Devils post on reflective textures.
Re: How do you do morph reflections and building animations?
Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 5:22 pm
by Red Devil
Yay! I forgot i had to do that when working on the dropship animations, too; sorry.
also saw this option Nathan added, from the PB2 Changelog:
[MorphTankClass]
UseChromeMesh = false // default is true if not specified.
Note: this is really untested. This should turn off the chroming
effect on morphs. [NM]
wait...biometal projectors?
Re: How do you do morph reflections and building animations?
Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 6:00 pm
by MrTwosheds
BTW - is there any way to register that program any more?
I think there's something in the zip for 155 to help with that.