New Build (2011-03-30) - Quick Fix

Moderators: GSH, Ultraken

Post Reply
User avatar
Ultraken
Patch Creator
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

New Build (2011-03-30) - Quick Fix

Post by Ultraken »

Lots of little things...

There's known a problem when colliding with pilots in multiplayer--they're a lot more "solid" than they should be. I'm looking into it, and I'll include a fix in the next build.

Downloads:
Executable
Program Database (Optional)

Changes:
* Fixed beams and bolts passing through targets
* Revised fix for UnitTask InitSpecial crash
- Again? But that trick never works...
- This time for sure! :D
* Not accepting level editor agreement cancels /startedit too
* Disable /startedit in a net game
* Fixed missing window border when switching from full-screen mode
* Only give kill credit for CLASS_ID_STRUCTURE1 buildings
- This fixes mines and other minor objects counting as kills
* Allow Launcher target lock even without enough ammo to fire (like 1.4)
* MapList Add loads the map description text instead of Load
- This simplifies things a bit...
* Fixed GotoTask trying to use the goto command "where" as a full path
- This should make units navigate properly instead of getting stuck
SnakeEye
Rattler
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 1:05 pm
Location: Åhus, Sweden
Contact:

Re: New Build (2011-03-30) - Quick Fix

Post by SnakeEye »

old crash problem
when you are in edit mode click Ctrl+A -> Ctrl+E -> Esc -> "return to game"


Improvement:
make the music volume work in the shell so you can at least turn it off.
User avatar
Ultraken
Patch Creator
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: New Build (2011-03-30) - Quick Fix

Post by Ultraken »

Is there anything special I need to do to get that to crash? I tried it on play01.bzn and newly-generated terrain and it worked okay for me. Could you try connecting to the executable with Visual C++ 2008 Express or some other debugger? A callstack would really help here. :)

(You'll need the .pdb file to get anything meaningful out of it, though.)
SnakeEye
Rattler
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 1:05 pm
Location: Åhus, Sweden
Contact:

Re: New Build (2011-03-30) - Quick Fix

Post by SnakeEye »

this is what i do :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzKpD1U1c1g

I'll install Visual C++ 2008 Express next time I reformat my computer which will be soon.
User avatar
Ultraken
Patch Creator
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: New Build (2011-03-30) - Quick Fix

Post by Ultraken »

It may be something going wrong with the mission script. I'll try it with that mission.
SnakeEye
Rattler
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 1:05 pm
Location: Åhus, Sweden
Contact:

Re: New Build (2011-03-30) - Quick Fix

Post by SnakeEye »

Ultraken wrote:It may be something going wrong with the mission script. I'll try it with that mission.
I doubt that, cause it happens on all maps. do you have any clue as why the cockpit looks like it does?
User avatar
Ultraken
Patch Creator
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: New Build (2011-03-30) - Quick Fix

Post by Ultraken »

I haven't been able to reproduce it yet, unfortunately. :(

There seems to be two different versions of the cockpit geometry floating around depending on what data you use. (I actually prefer the simpler geometry over the higher-resolution version.)
SnakeEye
Rattler
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 1:05 pm
Location: Åhus, Sweden
Contact:

Re: New Build (2011-03-30) - Quick Fix

Post by SnakeEye »

My laptops max res is 1366*768 and I crash on all except 640*480, 800*600 and 1024*768
it's only in Ctrl+E, so you wont need to press Ctrl+A
ok this is what I get:

bzone_d3d9.exe!BuildTerrainPolys(CAMERA * Camera=0x00585b60) Line 3010 + 0xd bytes C
bzone_d3d9.exe!Submit_Terrain_Mesh(CAMERA * Camera=0x00000000) Line 1898 + 0x6 bytes C
bzone_d3d9.exe!Render_Hardware_Next_Frame(CAMERA * Camera=0x00000000) Line 287 C
bzone_d3d9.exe!Render_Next_Frame(CAMERA * Camera=0x00585b60) Line 150 + 0x17 bytes C
bzone_d3d9.exe!DoNextFrame() Line 726 + 0xa bytes C
bzone_d3d9.exe!WinMain(HINSTANCE__ * hInstance=, HINSTANCE__ * hPrevInstance=, char * lpszCmdParam=, int nCmdShow=) Line 1628 C
bzone_d3d9.exe!__tmainCRTStartup() Line 578 + 0x1d bytes C
kernel32.dll!76fd3677()
[Frames below may be incorrect and/or missing, no symbols loaded for kernel32.dll]
ntdll.dll!77799f02()
ntdll.dll!77799ed5()
User avatar
Ultraken
Patch Creator
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: New Build (2011-03-30) - Quick Fix

Post by Ultraken »

Interesting...

Looking at the code, it's either trying to read a tile value from outside the world or write past the end of the mix buffer. Could you PM me your render.cfg?
User avatar
Ultraken
Patch Creator
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: New Build (2011-03-30) - Quick Fix

Post by Ultraken »

Was this on a custom map you were making?
SnakeEye
Rattler
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 1:05 pm
Location: Åhus, Sweden
Contact:

Re: New Build (2011-03-30) - Quick Fix

Post by SnakeEye »

no, map doesn't matter for me every resolution that isn't in 1.4 crash after I press "return to game" I did notice that if I click two times on ctrl+W after pressing ctlr+E the game didn't crash.
Last edited by SnakeEye on Sun Apr 24, 2011 5:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2408
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: New Build (2011-03-30) - Quick Fix

Post by General BlackDragon »

Also snake, IIRC flipping the zbuffer switch will fix your cockpit.
SnakeEye
Rattler
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 1:05 pm
Location: Åhus, Sweden
Contact:

Re: New Build (2011-03-30) - Quick Fix

Post by SnakeEye »

General BlackDragon wrote:Also snake, IIRC flipping the zbuffer switch will fix your cockpit.

yes but zbuffer is locked on.
Post Reply