Bz1 patches the oldies

Moderators: GSH, Ultraken

User avatar
Cliffhangr13
Drunken Constructor
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:27 pm
Location: http://tinyurl.com/VTXgamers
Contact:

Bz1 patches the oldies

Postby Cliffhangr13 » Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:41 am

Hi All I uh just installed patch 1.4 to my stock install of bz becuase apparantly I didn't have it cracked for no cd.so it was pretty much a pure install trouble is its still asking for the cd....a few questions now.. A) should I have hunted down the old 1.1 patch first and installed 1.4?
B) Can I Uninstall 1.4? I don't have my bz cd (reason I'm having trouble in first place..)
I'm not worried about 1.5 I have enough of that version and it doesn';t need cd..but I'm editing and found I have trouble with custom named constructors they don't work in my editor so I'm doing a process of elimination..I suspect I need vdf. for each custom named constructor..anyone have any trouble with this? anyway kinda snuck that modder question in this patch thread..he yeh anyway I guess I better go look for an BZ1 ISO..my pure stock version is now drunk with a patch. Yes I will go for the installer but I'm having trouble logging into Battlezone1.com..and I don't want the latest 1.5 until I know its not the culprit of my constructor troubles. Thanks for reading this far!
hmm mayb you need more...inspiration...
http://tinyurl.com/vtxfanpage

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2394
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Bz1 patches the oldies

Postby General BlackDragon » Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:42 am

Post your constructor ODF?
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

User avatar
Cliffhangr13
Drunken Constructor
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:27 pm
Location: http://tinyurl.com/VTXgamers
Contact:

Re: Bz1 patches the oldies

Postby Cliffhangr13 » Wed Feb 18, 2015 1:06 am

heres one of them..i've all kinds of variations and my more recent atempts work if i give them the odf.filename of stock units like svcnst.odf i haven't added any custom uits for it to build since I was just trying to get a constructor to survive leaving add unit/edit mode.
[GameObjectClass]
classLabel = "constructionrig"
basename = "svcnst"
collisionRadius = 7.0
scrapValue = 7
scrapCost = 8
buildTime = 10.0
maxHealth = 2500
maxAmmo = 0
unitName = "constructor"
aiName = "RigFriend"
aiName2 = "RigEnemy"
heatSignature = 2.2
imageSignature = 5.0
radarSignature = 0.1

[CraftClass]
rangeScan = 400.0f
periodScan = 5.0f
velocJam = 5.0f

selectUser1Msg = "svconsv2.wav"
selectUser2Msg = "avconsv6.wav"
selectWaitMsg = "avconsv7.wav"
selectGoMsg = "avconsv8.wav"
selectOtherMsg = "avconsva.wav"

attackMsg = "avconsv7.wav"
goMsg = "avconsv0.wav"
goObjectMsg = "avconsv0.wav"
user1Msg = "avconsv2.wav"
user2Msg = "avconsvb.wav"
followMsg = "avconsv3.wav"
otherMsg = "avconsv9.wav"
diedMsg = "abetty1.wav"

[HoverCraftClass]
setAltitude = 1.0
accelDragStop = 4.0
accelDragFull = 1.0
alphaTrack = 20.0
alphaDamp = 5.0
pitchPitch = 0.25
pitchThrust = 0.1
rollStrafe = 0.1
rollSteer = 0.1

velocForward = 12.0
velocReverse = 12.0
velocStrafe = 12.0
accelThrust = 50.0
accelBrake = 75.0
omegaSpin = 2.0
omegaTurn = 1.0
alphaSteer = 5.0
accelJump = 0.0

soundThrust = "svcnste0.wav"
soundSteer = "svcnste1.wav"
soundDeploy = "svartle0.wav"
soundUndeploy = "svartle4.wav"

[ProducerClass]

buildItem1 = "bbcom2"
buildItem2 = "sbtowe"
buildItem3 = "obheph"
buildItem4 = "sblpad"
buildItem5 = "sbsilo"
buildItem6 = "absupp"
buildItem7 = "sbhang"
hmm mayb you need more...inspiration...
http://tinyurl.com/vtxfanpage

User avatar
DeusExCeteri
Rattler
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 1:48 pm
Location: The fine locale of Canuckville Canada.

Re: Bz1 patches the oldies

Postby DeusExCeteri » Wed Feb 18, 2015 9:39 am

I copy-pasted this data into avcnst.odf and it works fine, can you give me any specifics on the error you've been receiving?

User avatar
blue banana
Sabre
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:08 pm
Location: Banana Land, UTC−6:00 MDT
Contact:

Re: Bz1 patches the oldies

Postby blue banana » Wed Feb 18, 2015 7:41 pm

Cliffhangr, what version if BZ1 are you on?

User avatar
DeusExCeteri
Rattler
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 1:48 pm
Location: The fine locale of Canuckville Canada.

Re: Bz1 patches the oldies

Postby DeusExCeteri » Wed Feb 18, 2015 9:14 pm

He says 1.4 in his post, BB.

Cliffhangr, I highly doubt that the cause of this issue is what version you're using, it's more likely a conflicting odf somewhere or some other issue. If you could share the specifics of the error you receive when you try to use your custom constructor I'm sure we could get to the real root of the problem. :)

User avatar
Cliffhangr13
Drunken Constructor
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:27 pm
Location: http://tinyurl.com/VTXgamers
Contact:

Re: Bz1 patches the oldies

Postby Cliffhangr13 » Sun Mar 01, 2015 2:49 pm

sry almost identical post but without edits..
Last edited by Cliffhangr13 on Sun Mar 01, 2015 3:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hmm mayb you need more...inspiration...
http://tinyurl.com/vtxfanpage

User avatar
Cliffhangr13
Drunken Constructor
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:27 pm
Location: http://tinyurl.com/VTXgamers
Contact:

Re: Bz1 patches the oldies

Postby Cliffhangr13 » Sun Mar 01, 2015 2:54 pm

duplicate post
Last edited by Cliffhangr13 on Sun Mar 01, 2015 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hmm mayb you need more...inspiration...
http://tinyurl.com/vtxfanpage

User avatar
Cliffhangr13
Drunken Constructor
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:27 pm
Location: http://tinyurl.com/VTXgamers
Contact:

Re: Bz1 patches the oldies

Postby Cliffhangr13 » Sun Mar 01, 2015 3:01 pm

sry haven't checked back in a few. There is no error message, DeusEx it just crashes out of the editor once i leave edit/add vehicle modes...btw sry for the confusion I'm editing in 1.5.1.17 i know its not the latest and I never got my stock w 1.4 install running for edit because my cd is in storage)...also..you might be right about conflicting odfs I'll need to test that issue if i have time today...but the problem occurs only if I give these constructors a custom name. If I give them stock names like Svcnst they work fine but name like svbuild.odf would crash it..so I started thinking maybe unlike other models constructor class labels are hard coded to require a .vdf file sharing the same name, and can't be substituted by basenames..i know its not likely true, if that were true other editors would have been crying about it by now so I'm at a loss. its the only theory i have and it doesn't seem likely given the amount of mods out there..I think even FurySt series uses a custom named constructor (just tested it and it crashes also...) Also I notice svcnst doesn't have any weapon hard points (don't remember if avcnst doesn't either.. I can't even trick the game by giving them ARM hardpoints. Does anybody know what if any weapon hardpoints those models have? I wanted to give a unit a popgun and make it look like a soviet constructor..do the chinese RO models suffer these same defiencies? I figure maybe the constructor models were the first complete models for the game and somebody maybe said oops "forgot to give them hardpoints", but then figured meh w/e next model..nobody needs an armed constructor anyway thats just wrong..." ;P
even scavengers and recylcers have hardpoints, but not constructors..at least not in my experience..oops well I guess I lied about the error report Microsoft provides an error report when the game crashes..do you really want to see that that huge text though? ;P
hmm mayb you need more...inspiration...
http://tinyurl.com/vtxfanpage

User avatar
blue banana
Sabre
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:08 pm
Location: Banana Land, UTC−6:00 MDT
Contact:

Re: Bz1 patches the oldies

Postby blue banana » Sun Mar 01, 2015 4:43 pm

Cliffhangr13 wrote:Microsoft provides an error report when the game crashes..do you really want to see that that huge text though? ;P

Ken does

User avatar
Cliffhangr13
Drunken Constructor
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:27 pm
Location: http://tinyurl.com/VTXgamers
Contact:

Re: Bz1 patches the oldies

Postby Cliffhangr13 » Sat Mar 07, 2015 4:39 am

IS anyone able to take a constructor rename it to something fun and still pop it into a map using in game edit mode and not crash when u hit cntrl-a? If I'm the only one having this problem then I'll be able to figure my next step. If your using a different type of editor like BZned or something and you have no problems making new constructor names let me know what app your using..that'll be a big help also.. ;D bb!
hmm mayb you need more...inspiration...
http://tinyurl.com/vtxfanpage

User avatar
Cliffhangr13
Drunken Constructor
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:27 pm
Location: http://tinyurl.com/VTXgamers
Contact:

Re: Bz1 patches the oldies

Postby Cliffhangr13 » Wed Mar 11, 2015 6:50 am

lreal funny, this board has upgrraded me to title of "drunken constructor" lol the irony.
hmm mayb you need more...inspiration...
http://tinyurl.com/vtxfanpage


Return to “Battlezone 1 Patches”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest