144Hz monitors and nvidia 3dvision

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

Michael
Sober Scav
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:41 am

144Hz monitors and nvidia 3dvision

Postby Michael » Sun Apr 30, 2017 3:27 am

Hi all,
I have a new 144Hz monitor that happens to be 3Dvision ready. I have two questions:
1. BZ2 does not seem to output 144hz, is there a way to force it to?
2. Nvidia 3dvision does not activate when the game is open. I do have the glasses,etc. Is there a way to force it or is it impossible to use with bz2.

Thanks!

User avatar
GSH
Patch Creator
Posts: 2448
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:55 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: 144Hz monitors and nvidia 3dvision

Postby GSH » Sun Apr 30, 2017 9:52 pm

Which BZ2 patch are you using? Use 1.3.7.2 patch for the best DirectX features.

-- GSH

Michael
Sober Scav
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:41 am

Re: 144Hz monitors and nvidia 3dvision

Postby Michael » Mon May 01, 2017 12:56 am

Thanks GSH, yes I was using the version. I apparently was really blind and didn't see the refresh rate section in the graphics options. I changed it to 144Hz so that is all settled now.

What about 3dvision? It is almost like the vision drivers do not recognize bz2 as a game and so it won't activate it even when I try to force it on. Do you know if I can do anything to make it work?

User avatar
Juggernaut
Thunderbolt
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:12 pm

Re: 144Hz monitors and nvidia 3dvision

Postby Juggernaut » Thu May 04, 2017 2:47 pm

3D vision will work with BZ2, but I got better results using TriDef and making my own profile to work with BZ2 (tridef gives me better depth etc, but maybe because my 3D monitor is passive 3D, not active).
My passive 3D monitor by default did not support 3D vision, I had to use an EDID override to get it to work, e.g.: http://afriendlyfox.com/2013/02/04/mass ... -override/

To ensure 3D vision, make sure you install the latest Nvidia driver for your card, also be sure the 3D vision drivers are selected during install.

Also, see the hotkeys you can use to enable/disable 3D vision and adjust depth etc here (adjust these hotkeys whilst you are in game, I hardly noticed anything until I used ctrl-T to enable 3D and increased the depth and adjusted converence to eliminate ghosting): http://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/ ... n-hot-keys

Tridef does a much better job with this though and in my case does not require an EDID override
If you want to try Tridef (free 7 day trial): https://www.tridef.com/
Specs:
Win 10 Pro 64bit OS
i5 3570K @4.5Ghz CPU
16GB DDR31600 Corsair RAM
MSI Z77A-G41 MOBO
Crucial 256GB SSD | 500GB WD HDD
EVGA REF GTX-970 4GB ACX 2.1 GPU
27" LG D2743 Cinema 3D IPS LED @1920x1080 60Hz
ASUS Xonar DGX APU
Cable Internet - 35Mb/6Mb

User avatar
Nielk1
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2991
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: 144Hz monitors and nvidia 3dvision

Postby Nielk1 » Thu May 04, 2017 4:55 pm

Are there still issues with the depth of the cockpit like back in 2002?

Michael
Sober Scav
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:41 am

Re: 144Hz monitors and nvidia 3dvision

Postby Michael » Sat May 06, 2017 3:53 am

Thanks, but 3dvision, won't even activate. Usually I can turn it off and on in a game by using the keystrokes or pressing the green nvidia button on the IR emitter. But in bz2 it won't even register. Any ideas?

Also I tried tridef, but I did not see an option for 3dvision during the installation.

User avatar
Juggernaut
Thunderbolt
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:12 pm

Re: 144Hz monitors and nvidia 3dvision

Postby Juggernaut » Thu May 11, 2017 4:30 pm

Tridef does not use 3d vision so there will not be an option for 3d vision (nvidia).
try this for Tridef:
Please check in your monitor's menu for a 3D section.
Check if there is a setting that allows to override the 3D signal auto-detection and manually use Side-by-Side or Top/Bottom 3D transmission.
If you have such option available, then you'll be able to use Tridef on any graphics card.
I do not know if this option is available regardless of the type of conenction, there may be a restriction to use it only with hdmi transmission.

Set Tridef to side-by-side or top/bottom mode.
Start your 3D game in full-screen mode. (playing in a window should work but needs to be maximized)
Once in game, go to your monitor's menu and activate the 3D override to the appropriate mode.
Don't forget to turn the 3D setting back to automatic in your monitor once you have finished playing the 3D game.
Specs:
Win 10 Pro 64bit OS
i5 3570K @4.5Ghz CPU
16GB DDR31600 Corsair RAM
MSI Z77A-G41 MOBO
Crucial 256GB SSD | 500GB WD HDD
EVGA REF GTX-970 4GB ACX 2.1 GPU
27" LG D2743 Cinema 3D IPS LED @1920x1080 60Hz
ASUS Xonar DGX APU
Cable Internet - 35Mb/6Mb


Return to “Battlezone 2 Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest