[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions_content.php on line 1014: Undefined array key 3
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions_content.php on line 1014: Undefined array key 3
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4130: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3009)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4130: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3009)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4130: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3009)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4130: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3009)
Battlezone Forums • About the user interface
Page 1 of 1

About the user interface

Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 6:05 pm
by Feldheld
I recently bought a 27" widescreen monitor with a maximum resolution of 1920x1080, which is supported by BZ2, nice one there. Unfortunately things like the chat box or the little dots showing the members of unit groups are a bit hard to read (Im sitting more than 1m from the monitor). So I tinkered a bit with the cfg files which I extracted from the pak files and managed to get a nice big chat box, extra large font, and bigger and more distinct unit dots.

Unfortunately of course such a setting works only for one specific resolution. Is there any way to make BZ2 at least recognize that a certain cfg file is only valid for a specific resolution and make it fall back to the original cfg file if another resolution is chosen? In this case I could make different cfg files for all the different resolutions I might use.

Ive seen some cfg files with filename endings like 1280x768 in some subdirectory but I guess these are to be renamed and copied to bz2\addon to become active, or arent they?

Re: About the user interface

Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 6:10 pm
by Red Devil
yes, that's correct; just rename it so it has the res at the end and put it in addon (no bad assets)

Re: About the user interface

Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 6:18 pm
by Feldheld
Beautiful :)

Re: About the user interface

Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 6:19 pm
by Nielk1
I run 1920 by 1200 and yes, the stock HUD can get pretty small.

Re: About the user interface

Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 6:43 pm
by Red Devil
feldheld, i kluged together a cfg for large chat and stats for 1680x1050 awhile back:

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=703

Re: About the user interface

Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 10:26 pm
by Feldheld
Thats my chat box. Nothing special, just a fix.

Image

Re: About the user interface

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 1:01 am
by Red Devil
the radar size and position is adjustable in gameprefs.ini. also, the position of the fps info, the histogram, aip debugger, etc.

Re: About the user interface

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 10:56 am
by Feldheld
Red Devil wrote:the radar size and position is adjustable in gameprefs.ini. also, the position of the fps info, the histogram, aip debugger, etc.
Can the changes in gameprefs.ini also be made resolution sensitive?

Increased the size of the scrap gauge:

Image

Re: About the user interface

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 5:23 pm
by Red Devil
might be able to do it using Lua. from the changelog for pb6:


- Began using lua in BZ2. (Needed some quick refresher on lua as I'm
going to be using it some at work.) For shell, game .cfg files,
referenced by the exe (e.g. 'bzgame_moves.cfg'), it now looks for a
.lua file of the same name, e.g. 'bzgame_moves.lua'. That lua file
should have a function of this sort:

function DetermineCfgFile(width, height)
end

This function can do what it wants, but should return a string
which is the .cfg to use. Width and height are numbers, and are the
screen dimensions, in pixels. A more complex lua function for
'bzgame_moves.lua' is as follows:

function DetermineCfgFile(width, height)
if(width <= 640) then
return "bzgame_moves_small.cfg"
else
return "bzgame_moves_med.cfg"
end
end

to save some tedium, here's what's in my prefs file for radar sizes:

//Play_MapRadarHeight = 128
//Play_MapRadarWidth = 128
//Play_MapRadarXMult = 0.0
//Play_MapRadarXDiff = 30.0
//Play_MapRadarYMult = 1.0
//Play_MapRadarYDiff = -10.0

//Play_MapRadarHeight = 256
//Play_MapRadarWidth = 256
//Play_MapRadarXMult = 0.0
//Play_MapRadarXDiff = 55.0
//Play_MapRadarYMult = 1.0
//Play_MapRadarYDiff = -20.0

Play_MapRadarHeight = 307
Play_MapRadarWidth = 307
Play_MapRadarXMult = 0.0
Play_MapRadarXDiff = 55.0
Play_MapRadarYMult = 1.0
Play_MapRadarYDiff = -20.0

// Same as above, but for the 3D cockpit radar. [applies to play &
// editor, actually] You may need to keep the aspect ratio constant
// here; if not 1.85:1, the XSI may need tweaking
//Play_CockpitRadarHeight = 140
//Play_CockpitRadarWidth = 260
//Play_CockpitRadarXMult = 0.0
//Play_CockpitRadarXDiff = 35.0
//Play_CockpitRadarYMult = 1.0
//Play_CockpitRadarYDiff = 0.0

//Play_CockpitRadarHeight = 190
//Play_CockpitRadarWidth = 351
//Play_CockpitRadarXMult = 0.0
//Play_CockpitRadarXDiff = 35.0
//Play_CockpitRadarYMult = 1.0
//Play_CockpitRadarYDiff = 0.0

Play_CockpitRadarHeight = 256
Play_CockpitRadarWidth = 474
Play_CockpitRadarXMult = 0.0
Play_CockpitRadarXDiff = 48.0
Play_CockpitRadarYMult = 1.0
Play_CockpitRadarYDiff = -10.0

Re: About the user interface

Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 12:16 am
by Purplehaze
How would I get my hands on that chatbox, or a similar of yours, the corner thing is just about as useless as the scoreboard is on 1080p, with dual 21.5" monitors.

Re: About the user interface

Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 9:08 am
by Feldheld
For the chatbox, two files need to be extracted from patch13.pak, edited and saved in the bz2\addon folder:

1. bzgame_init.cfg (to include the 14p font definition)
2. bzgame_stats.cfg (save as bzgame_stats_1920x1080.cfg in the addon folder)

In the first file insert these two lines:

Code: Select all

// large font: bank gothic medium 14-point
CreateFont("XLARGE", "bg14.bmf");
In the second file find the search word "messages" and replace the following three objects with

Code: Select all

	CreateControl("Messages", "LISTBOX")
	{
		ColorGroup("BACKGROUND");
		Geometry("RIGHT", "TOP");
		Position(-450, 790);
		Size(900, 180);
		BevelSize(5);
		BorderSize(5);
		CellSize(900, 14);
		Font("XLARGE");
		UseVar("network.stats.messages");
		Style("INERT", "NOSELECTION", "AUTOSCROLL");
		ItemConfig()
		{
			Style("TRANSPARENT");
		}
		TabStop(0);
	}

	CreateControl("ChatLineIdentifier", "STATIC")
	{
		Geometry("RIGHT", "TOP");
		JustifyText("LEFT");
		Position(-1280, 978);
		Size(50, 14);
		Font("XLARGE");
		Text("Say:");
		Style("TRANSPARENT");
	}

	//
	// create the chat edit box
	//
	CreateControl("GameChatEdit", "EDIT")
	{
		ColorGroup("MAGENTA");
		Geometry("RIGHT", "TOP");
		Position(-450, 978);
		Size(800, 14);
		BorderSize(3);
		BevelSize(3);
		Font("XLARGE");
		UseVar("network.chateditline");
		Cursor("Highlight");
		MaxLength(250);	
		NotifyParent("Edit::Enter","ChatEntered");
	}			

Re: About the user interface

Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 4:18 pm
by Red Devil
aside: posted a new pic of my screen in that other thread to show everything at once.

Re: About the user interface

Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 1:43 am
by Purplehaze
Thanks, Feldheld.