Battlezone II v1.3.6.5 Public Beta released

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

User avatar
GSH
Patch Creator
Posts: 2460
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:55 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.5 Public Beta released

Post by GSH » Wed Jun 25, 2014 3:19 pm

There is a general pool of ivars and svars, then a set of per-player ivars and svars. The civar/cxvar (aka client ivar/svar) get mapped to the end of the regular pool of ivars.

This looks like something stomped memory enough to make a svar disappear, which wasn't detected until the next join. BZ2 stopped asap on the problem, rather than letting things continue.

-- GSH

User avatar
Baconboy
Attila
Posts: 1063
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:49 pm
Location: On this forum, aren't I?
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.5 Public Beta released

Post by Baconboy » Wed Jun 25, 2014 3:31 pm

B!thZone][ is Juggernaut, I'm pretty sure. Could be wrong.

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2405
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.5 Public Beta released

Post by General BlackDragon » Wed Jun 25, 2014 4:05 pm

Yes I think that is him
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.5 Public Beta released

Post by Commando » Wed Jun 25, 2014 8:46 pm

Most likely unless someonen was cloaking as him.

User avatar
Red Devil
Recycler
Posts: 4395
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 5:10 pm
Location: High in the Rocky Mountains

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.5 Public Beta released

Post by Red Devil » Thu Jun 26, 2014 3:17 am

- Usable global svars are network.session.svar0
.. network.session.svar31. As above, mods should start from the top of
the range and work down.

...and it's possible that an svar was set in a mod, like vsr or whatever and then he tried to join and it dorked things up; no telling.
If given the truth, the people can be depended upon to meet any national crisis. The great point is to bring them the real facts - and beer.
Abraham Lincoln

Battlestrat, FE, G66, In The Shadows, Starfleet, Uler, & ZTV

Lifetime member of JBS and NRA

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2405
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.5 Public Beta released

Post by General BlackDragon » Thu Jun 26, 2014 3:34 am

I'll ask ZA if VSR's shell files use any svars.
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.5 Public Beta released

Post by Commando » Thu Jun 26, 2014 12:58 pm

It's probably just a memory trashing bug that wasn't caught during testing.

User avatar
Zero Angel
Attila
Posts: 1536
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.5 Public Beta released

Post by Zero Angel » Thu Jun 26, 2014 1:14 pm

It's most likely what Commando says.
General BlackDragon wrote:I'll ask ZA if VSR's shell files use any svars.
Yes, it pretty much has to use svars to even function as intended. The current public release of VSR has host-usable buttons that load a config that sets various vars

Code: Select all

// VSR Strat Preset - Plus Recycler Variant w/ 1.2-style physics

// Load VSR Unit List
Cmd("network.session.svar4 vsr12svehicles.odf");

// Enable Scouts
Cmd("network.session.ivar4 30");

// Start with 2 Turrets by Default
Cmd("network.session.ivar7 3");

// Load Recycler
Cmd("network.session.svar5 ivrecy_12svsr");

// Enable Starting Turrets
Cmd("network.session.svar6 mpistartingvsrold.odf");

// Enable Experimental VSR-Compatible AIP
Cmd("network.session.svar3 vsra");

// Enable Hadeans as a CPU Race
Cmd("network.session.svar12 ivrecy_12vsr");

// Warn about Missing AIP files for Hadean/Icecream
Exec("bzshell_multi_warn_mpinoaips.cfg");
Cmd("iface.activate MultiWarningNoAIPs");
This command preset should only be usable by the host and cannot under normal circumstances be activated by a client. Assuming the person joined as a client even with VSR active, then their local vars should correspond to what the host is using.

UPDATE: Joined an MPI game where host was running stock and I was running VSR. No crashes. No bad assets. Could probably use a few more tests (e.g. joining an MPI game after playing a VSR game).
Last edited by Zero Angel on Thu Jun 26, 2014 4:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regulators
Regulate any stealin' of this biometal pool, we're damn good, too
But you can't be any geek off the street
Gotta be handy with the chains if you know what I mean
Earn your keep

User avatar
GSH
Patch Creator
Posts: 2460
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:55 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.5 Public Beta released

Post by GSH » Thu Jun 26, 2014 2:29 pm

It's probably just a memory trashing bug that wasn't caught during testing.
I've seen logs for quite a while now that appear to be some sort of memory trashing. But, they're rare enough -- once a month at best -- and the problem is detected so much later after the damage happens that there's been no good way to trace it down.

-- GSH

User avatar
Red Spot
Attila
Posts: 1628
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:14 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.5 Public Beta released

Post by Red Spot » Thu Jun 26, 2014 9:06 pm

General BlackDragon wrote:No, Ivars go up to 128. I thought svars went up to 32, maybe they only go up to 30. The highest I've used is 29.
I thought you ment used vars. But in that case you are incorrect. Svars seem to go to 159, not sure about ivars but its higher than 159.

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2405
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.5 Public Beta released

Post by General BlackDragon » Fri Jun 27, 2014 2:12 am

Eeeh, sortof.

Svars in the CONSOLE go up quite high, but if you try to put one in a map inf, higher then 31 wont work.
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

ADMIRAL MANSON
Thunderbolt
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 4:54 am
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.5 Public Beta released

Post by ADMIRAL MANSON » Wed Jul 02, 2014 6:58 am


User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2405
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.5 Public Beta released

Post by General BlackDragon » Wed Jul 02, 2014 3:35 pm

Awesome.
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

User avatar
Juggernaut
Thunderbolt
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:12 pm

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.5 Public Beta released

Post by Juggernaut » Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:49 pm

Yes, B!t[hZone][ is me. I recall trying to join axe's game, but it failed to connect. No crash on my end.
Specs:
Win 10 Pro 64bit OS
i5 3570K @4.5Ghz CPU
16GB DDR31600 Corsair RAM
MSI Z77A-G41 MOBO
Crucial 256GB SSD | 500GB WD HDD
EVGA REF GTX-970 4GB ACX 2.1 GPU
27" LG D2743 Cinema 3D IPS LED @1920x1080 60Hz
ASUS Xonar DGX APU
Cable Internet - 35Mb/6Mb

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2405
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.5 Public Beta released

Post by General BlackDragon » Sun Jul 06, 2014 11:29 pm

Vearie brought up the players can spam "I need a ship!" repeatedly in games.

Maybe a time out on player - player commands?
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

Post Reply