Battlezone II v1.3.7.2 Public Beta released

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7.2 Public Beta released

Post by Commando » Thu Nov 17, 2016 3:59 am

I've been out of town for work. As a result, I haven't had much of a chance to test.

With my crash, it was consistent enough to be annoying but not consistent enough to be reproduceable.

The only crashing I had seen was in bz2.

I had no similar issues in other applications.

Another oddity is sonic studios wasn't compatible with my headphones, so it didn't launch properly when launched manually.

User avatar
Vadam
Thunderbolt
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 3:02 pm

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7.2 Public Beta released

Post by Vadam » Thu Nov 24, 2016 3:29 pm

Got an internal exception, heres the log. Its too horrendously long to post on here.

http://pastebin.com/QjecM0Pk
Starfleet 0.8 - Almost done!

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7.2 Public Beta released

Post by Commando » Thu Nov 24, 2016 3:53 pm

That *VAR error occurs in g66 too.

It seems to be limited to mods that use custom VARs.

I haven't encountered it in stock anyways.

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2404
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7.2 Public Beta released

Post by General BlackDragon » Fri Nov 25, 2016 1:18 am

This makes me wonder if, somewhere, sometime ago, the ivars were upped from 64 to 128, maybe somewhere it's still using the old 64 limit, so when mods use vars > 64 it does this?
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7.2 Public Beta released

Post by Commando » Sat Nov 26, 2016 1:25 am

Does BZC use multiple starting vehicle list?

Years ago, I had set up multiple lists, to work around the 32 vehicle limit imposed, which is what G66 currently uses.

The list is changed depending on what button the host clicks.

Does BZC use a similar setup?

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2404
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7.2 Public Beta released

Post by General BlackDragon » Sat Nov 26, 2016 11:20 pm

Yea, there is that in BZC, and sometimes I also use network.session.svar4 to set it to a test list with additional races that are still WIP.
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7.2 Public Beta released

Post by Commando » Sun Nov 27, 2016 5:36 pm

That is most likely the cause of your VAR bug.

G66 suffers from the same bug when the list is changed.

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2404
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7.2 Public Beta released

Post by General BlackDragon » Sun Nov 27, 2016 7:19 pm

I'll keep an eye out to see if it ever happens without changing the list.
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

User avatar
squirrelof09
Sabre
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 3:00 am
Location: ts3.theothergamers.org
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7.2 Public Beta released

Post by squirrelof09 » Thu Dec 01, 2016 2:08 am

Public 1.3 and Public g66. Ashleyy had a crash after a bomber dropped a bomb in front of her and the bomb exploded. AV is at botton of attached log, along with screenshot of how the game froze. No clients crashed and we were probably at least 100m+ away from ashleyy

http://www.bzscrap.org/users/Squirrelof ... 0745cst.7z

Image

User avatar
coxxon
Sabre
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:57 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7.2 Public Beta released

Post by coxxon » Sun Dec 04, 2016 6:50 pm

I finally got around to deleting my pb1371 install and loaded up BZII with pb1372. I haven’t had any crashes, but I’ve had a different set of problems – with the editor. I’m hoping that these aren’t just my install …

1 - While I like the larger boxes in the schematic view, I’ve noticed that if one goes into the editor which I’ve been running BZII in windowed mode, then activate the schematic shift-F9 view from it, that you can’t exit it by hitting shift-F9 again anymore. Running the schematic view outside of the editor, shiftF9 does work properly to enter and exits it, but it would sure be nice to be able to run, and exit it with the editor interface open again.

2 - Also, the BIGGER problem I’ve had is that the “pressure” setting doesn’t work properly. Before, a pressure setting of 20 when raising terrain gave a nice subtle rise. But now, it doesn’t work. If I set the pressure to 40 or higher, I get nothing but 100% pressure, regardless of tool, which really makes editing terrain difficult.

3 - Also the color settings seem to have the same problem, in that color doesn’t get painted (regardless of setting) fully the way it did before.

4 – Also with 1371, I had been able to put maps that I was editing in the BZII/maps13/missions/instant folder and edit, save, and reload them there. But now I have to put the maps in a BZII/addon/missions/instant folder to get them to save, and reload with the edited map as doing it the previous way was not saving the edited map. Not the end of the world, but it is inconvenient.

5 – This one isn’t related to the editor, but I was working with new dll scripts that used odfs with the CanAIeject = 0 (not sure if that’s the correct spelling since I don’t have access to the correct changelog at the moment, but I did copy and paste the command from the changelog into the odf) to prevent the ai from ejecting pilots. It doesn’t seem to work though. (I was running a new cutscene where I didn’t want loose ai pilots running around after their ship got destroyed.)

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2404
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7.2 Public Beta released

Post by General BlackDragon » Sun Dec 04, 2016 9:09 pm

#1 I've also reported this, hope GSH fixes it.

I'll have to test out 2-3.

#5: Make sure the setting is under [CraftClass]. Things must be under the correct [Header] or it won't get read.
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

User avatar
coxxon
Sabre
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:57 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7.2 Public Beta released

Post by coxxon » Sun Dec 04, 2016 9:18 pm

General BlackDragon wrote:##5: Make sure the setting is under [CraftClass]. Things must be under the correct [Header] or it won't get read.
hmm, I'll have to recheck that. I think I was putting it in GameObject.

The pressure issues still seem to be a problem. I tried out the same map in 1365 editor, and that version was editing correctly.
I suspect the issue in 1372 came about when the changes were made to the schematic view section (which I believe has happened before with the editor in previous patch).

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2404
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7.2 Public Beta released

Post by General BlackDragon » Wed Jan 18, 2017 12:43 am

Got this in G66 in 1.3.7.2.

Code: Select all

---- Battlezone II Log File ----
//=====================================================
App version: bzone 1.3.7.2 Public Beta Oct 22 2016 13:28:14
Windows version: Windows Version: 6.2.9200 '' PlatformID=2

Last few battlezone.log lines (may or may not be relevant):
DIAG|          GameObject:3210 |18:43:09|1014685|JOIN, recompute isUser=0 from id 0x012DD5C6 local 07150A1F
DIAG|          GameObject:3371 |18:43:09|1014687|JOIN, obj has id 0x012DD5C6 team 3, and local id 0x07150A1F team 4
DIAG|          GameObject:3210 |18:43:09|1014687|JOIN, recompute isUser=1 from id 0x07150A1F local 07150A1F
DIAG|          GameObject:718  |18:43:09|1014687|JOIN, GO::Init change ID 0xFFFFFFFF to local DPID 0x07150A1F
DIAG|          GameObject:3371 |18:43:09|1014687|JOIN, obj has id 0x07150A1F team 4, and local id 0x07150A1F team 4
DIAG|            Planners:3317 |18:43:09|1015138|SetAIP - cfg(gaips66ie.aip) team(6)
DIAG|            Planners:3317 |18:43:09|1015198|SetAIP - cfg(GunTower7.aip) team(7)
DIAG|      STJoinHandlers:765  |18:43:09|1015288|-- Resynchronized gamestate to server at timestep 95271
(done)

Exception code: C0000005 (ACCESS VIOLATION) READING from 5F3543F1h
Message :  Unhandled Exception
Error occurred at 1/17/2017 18:43:32.
D:\Development\Battlezone II 1.3 pb7.2\bzone.exe, run by BlackDragon.
D:\Development\Battlezone II 1.3 pb7.2\bzone.exe, run by BlackDragon.
CPU: 2 processor(s), AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+
     x86 Family 15 Model 107 Stepping 2
Process Memory :   1238 MB free out of   2048 MB total
Physical memory:    754 MB free out of   3327 MB total
Page(swap) file:   1699 MB free out of   6655 MB total
This exe is using 237 MB (178 MB dlmalloc), peak use 361 MB

Fault address:  0C24B92F 01:0070A92F C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\nvd3dum.dll

Registers:
EAX:5F3543ED
EBX:00BF2C50
ECX:0C9C5000
EDX:00000087
ESI:009FE0BC
EDI:009FE0BC
CS:EIP:001B:0C24B92F
SS:ESP:0023:089AE990  EBP:089AEA88
DS:0023  ES:0023  FS:003B  GS:0000
Flags:00010206

Call stack:
Address  Offset1  Offset2  Module              SourceFile
0C24B92F +0070B92F 00040E5F nvd3dum          (nvd3dum): : QueryOglResource

0C1FFF5C +006BFF5C 00000000 nvd3dum          (nvd3dum): : (func)

0C186395 +00646395 00000000 nvd3dum          (nvd3dum): : (func)

0C19F2C7 +0065F2C7 00000000 nvd3dum          (nvd3dum): : (func)

0C3EDD54 +008ADD54 001E3284 nvd3dum          (nvd3dum): : QueryOglResource

0C3EDE9B +008ADE9B 001E33CB nvd3dum          (nvd3dum): : QueryOglResource

772895E4 +000195E4 00000024 KERNEL32         (KERNEL32): : BaseThreadInitThunk

77C0241A +0002241A 0000016A ntdll            (ntdll): : RtlCheckPortableOperatingSystem

77C023E9 +000223E9 00000139 ntdll            (ntdll): : RtlCheckPortableOperatingSystem

Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

User avatar
GSH
Patch Creator
Posts: 2458
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:55 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7.2 Public Beta released

Post by GSH » Wed Jan 18, 2017 1:41 pm

Crashes in the D3D driver and G66 seem like the svar8 (check*.odf) issue that's better in b132z.

-- GSH

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2404
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7.2 Public Beta released

Post by General BlackDragon » Mon Apr 03, 2017 3:11 pm

Someone got this in an MP game:

Image
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

Post Reply