Special weapon lock - How to make it unselectable?
Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando
-
- Sober Scav
- Posts: 22
- Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 9:19 pm
Special weapon lock - How to make it unselectable?
Hello,
first of all, I'm sorry if this topic is in bad category, IDK where to put it, so I put it in general discussion, cos I think the "glitch" is general.
I want to have any special weapon unselectable - to be exact, when a vehicle has a special weapon, it cannot be selected by player, but still can be used. I mean this:
For example I have a flare mine along with other weapons. The question is how to "auto-skip" flare mine (generally any special weapon) and select the first one. I will use ISDF Sabre:
Cannon
Guns
Mortar
Special (not selectable, but usable by mouse 2 button)
I'm asking cos I have weapon selection assigned to mouse wheel so mouse wheel works like fast weapon switcher. The "prob" is it selects special weapon too, which I don't want, I want from Mortar right to Cannon - it skips Special, so special can be fired only with 3rd party key / trigger.
first of all, I'm sorry if this topic is in bad category, IDK where to put it, so I put it in general discussion, cos I think the "glitch" is general.
I want to have any special weapon unselectable - to be exact, when a vehicle has a special weapon, it cannot be selected by player, but still can be used. I mean this:
For example I have a flare mine along with other weapons. The question is how to "auto-skip" flare mine (generally any special weapon) and select the first one. I will use ISDF Sabre:
Cannon
Guns
Mortar
Special (not selectable, but usable by mouse 2 button)
I'm asking cos I have weapon selection assigned to mouse wheel so mouse wheel works like fast weapon switcher. The "prob" is it selects special weapon too, which I don't want, I want from Mortar right to Cannon - it skips Special, so special can be fired only with 3rd party key / trigger.
Re: Special weapon lock - How to make it unselectable?
You would need to mod gameplay, and it would not be compatible with stock. Don't know if that is ok for your uses or not.
If what you want is to weapon flip like the pros, usually a previous weapon button is all that is required. I have it mapped to the fifth button on my mouse, a tap of the pinky lets me do it.
If what you want is to weapon flip like the pros, usually a previous weapon button is all that is required. I have it mapped to the fifth button on my mouse, a tap of the pinky lets me do it.
- MrTwosheds
- Recycler
- Posts: 3059
- Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 am
- Location: Outer Space
- Contact:
Re: Special weapon lock - How to make it unselectable?
I also map special to a keyboard button, then you just got to learn to miss it via next/previous on the mouse.
- S.cavA.rmyG.en
- Sabre
- Posts: 296
- Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:15 am
- Location: ISDF Junk Yard
- Contact:
Re: Special weapon lock - How to make it unselectable?
IRC it is
but you would have to put that in each weapon.
Code: Select all
[WeaponClass]
canSelect = 0
- General BlackDragon
- Flying Mauler
- Posts: 2408
- Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
- Contact:
Re: Special weapon lock - How to make it unselectable?
Code: Select all
- Added "canSelect" parameter to WeaponClass, indicating whether or not
the weapon should be added to the group cycle, set to true by default.
ShieldUpgradeClass sets this to false, as those weapons have no useful
"fire" action. Person "pack" weapons (previously unselectable) don't,
and so will be selectable unless marked otherwise in the ODF. [Ken]
- MrTwosheds
- Recycler
- Posts: 3059
- Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 am
- Location: Outer Space
- Contact:
Re: Special weapon lock - How to make it unselectable?
He's not modding he's playing.
The only way to avoid it is to learn to miss it.
The only way to avoid it is to learn to miss it.
Re: Special weapon lock - How to make it unselectable?
Most tend to bind a button to "Previous Weapon" and not use the scroll wheel for weapon selection for the reason of overshot and selection of specials.
- Zero Angel
- Attila
- Posts: 1536
- Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:54 am
- Contact:
Re: Special weapon lock - How to make it unselectable?
I use a previous weapon setting to prevent using the special accidentally. In my case it is scrollwheel-up for previous weapon, and scrollwheel-down for next weapon. It helps greatly with certain weapon combinations such as blast-chain. That said it can be imprecise sometimes and it's possible to overshoot the weapon setting and use the special accidentally -- still it's easier than trying to 'miss' the special constantly by simply using next-weapon.
Re: Special weapon lock - How to make it unselectable?
This also the method I use and is probably the best aside from using weapon linking (which is normally disabled).Zero Angel wrote:I use a previous weapon setting to prevent using the special accidentally. In my case it is scrollwheel-up for previous weapon, and scrollwheel-down for next weapon. It helps greatly with certain weapon combinations such as blast-chain. That said it can be imprecise sometimes and it's possible to overshoot the weapon setting and use the special accidentally -- still it's easier than trying to 'miss' the special constantly by simply using next-weapon.