Per-team colors

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

Sigma 27
Drunken Scav
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:21 am

Per-team colors

Postby Sigma 27 » Sun May 28, 2017 7:30 pm

I've been looking to change various colours and I saw this:

Code: Select all

// Per-team colors, even w/ teamplay on. The '0' slot is for the
// commander; 1..4 are thugs. Note - if these are not specified
// (i.e. they're commented out w/ the // at the left end of the line),
// then the TeamColorA/TeamColorB is auto-copied into these values

//TeamColorTeamA0 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA1 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA2 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA3 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA4 = "255 31 31 255" // red

//TeamColorTeamB0 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB1 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB2 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB3 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB4 = "31 31 255 255" // blue


Then I saw this:

Code: Select all

// Teamcolors for MP games. 0 means off, 1 is team colors on,
// individual teams, 2 is team colors on, teamplay colors (teams 1-5
// the same, 6-10 the same). Use -1 for default (BZ2 1.0-1.2 behavior,
// which is 0 in SP, 1 or 2 in MP). Invalid values treated as -1
TeamplayColors = -1


As a result I liked to sound of this and assumed it worked in strategy and MPI games, thus myself and units under my command would be say green and another player and his/her units would be yellow during an MPI game and so on, this is what I think it means. Thus I hoped to change it to this:

Code: Select all

// Per-team colors, even w/ teamplay on. The '0' slot is for the
// commander; 1..4 are thugs. Note - if these are not specified
// (i.e. they're commented out w/ the // at the left end of the line),
// then the TeamColorA/TeamColorB is auto-copied into these values

TeamColorTeamA0 = "255 86 4 255" // orange
TeamColorTeamA1 = "255 249 4 255" // Yellow
TeamColorTeamA2 = "198 0 0 255" // red
TeamColorTeamA3 = "255 128 64 255" // peach
TeamColorTeamA4 = "255 255 255 255" // white

TeamColorTeamB0 = "130 0 157 255" // purple
TeamColorTeamB1 = "0 242 236 255" // cyan
TeamColorTeamB2 = "0 0 198 255" // blue
TeamColorTeamB3 = "211 11 240 255" // lilac
TeamColorTeamB4 = "31 31 31 255" // black


How do I make this work? Whenever I test it in the game I just get the default colours that are selected under:

Code: Select all

// And, for teamplay (i.e. team strat or MPI) games, the teamcolors.
// TeamA is used for teams 1..5, and TeamB is for teams 6..10
TeamColorTeamA = "0 96 0 255" // Dark Green
TeamColorTeamB = "130 0 157 255" // Purple


Any help is appreciated!

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2404
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Per-team colors

Postby General BlackDragon » Mon May 29, 2017 1:30 pm

// Default teamcolors for DM/FFA. These will be pushed from the server
// to clients. If you don't like what the server pushed to you as a
// client, look at the console commands game.setdefaultcolors,
// game.setgameprefscolors, game.setservercolors,
// game.swapteamcolors. There are also network chat commands
// "/setdefaultcolors", "/setgameprefscolors", "/setservercolors", and
// "/swapteamcolors" , which do the same thing.

Those commands should set the colors to which settings you wish to use.
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

Sigma 27
Drunken Scav
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:21 am

Re: Per-team colors

Postby Sigma 27 » Mon May 29, 2017 1:43 pm

Those are what I used. However it still uses the same colour for the command and thug commanders. Even with out the // at the start of the line on the TeamColorTeamA0 -4 & B0-1 it has no effect on the game at all.

However, I manage to get the desired effect by changing TeamplayColors to 1

Code: Select all

// Teamcolors for MP games. 0 means off, 1 is team colors on,
// individual teams, 2 is team colors on, teamplay colors (teams 1-5
// the same, 6-10 the same). Use -1 for default (BZ2 1.0-1.2 behavior,
// which is 0 in SP, 1 or 2 in MP). Invalid values treated as -1
TeamplayColors = 1


and setting the FFA colors to this.

Code: Select all

// FFA & DM colors, one per team.
TeamColorFFA0 = "31 31 31 255" // black
TeamColorFFA1 = "255 86 4 255" // orange
TeamColorFFA2 = "255 249 4 255" // Yellow
TeamColorFFA3 = "198 0 0 255" // red
TeamColorFFA4 = "255 128 64 255" // peach
TeamColorFFA5 = "255 255 255 255" // white
TeamColorFFA6 = "130 0 157 255" // purple
TeamColorFFA7 = "0 242 236 255" // cyan
TeamColorFFA8 = "0 0 198 255" // blue
TeamColorFFA9 = "236 50 245 255" // lilac
TeamColorFFA10= "108 68 68 255" // Brown red
TeamColorFFA11= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA12= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA13= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA14= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA15= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color


But I'm still confused as to what this would be used for instead.

Code: Select all

// Per-team colors, even w/ teamplay on. The '0' slot is for the
// commander; 1..4 are thugs. Note - if these are not specified
// (i.e. they're commented out w/ the // at the left end of the line),
// then the TeamColorA/TeamColorB is auto-copied into these values

//TeamColorTeamA0 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA1 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA2 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA3 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA4 = "255 31 31 255" // red

//TeamColorTeamB0 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB1 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB2 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB3 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB4 = "31 31 255 255" // blue

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2404
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Per-team colors

Postby General BlackDragon » Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:48 am

Teamplay, (ST, Team DM, etc) where everyone is usually Red or Blue. That bit allows you to varry it up a bit. (light blue, dark blue, blue ish? etc)
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****


Return to “Battlezone 2 Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 2 guests