Sticky Mortar

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

User avatar
S.cavA.rmyG.en
Sabre
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:15 am
Location: ISDF Junk Yard
Contact:

Re: Sticky Mortar

Post by S.cavA.rmyG.en »

TheJamsh wrote:
blue banana wrote:
TheJamsh wrote:They are :P, but it was getting the grenade to 'stick' and emit an effect just like leader rounds, and only have ONE stick at a time so it looks 'seamless'.
if you are pretty much looking at the TAG leader round .DLL and .ODF then i suggest you look at the resin stick .DLL/.ODF which will greatly give you a better sense of what correct code
Believe me, I know what I'm doing...
you could try a weapon mine.
User avatar
TheJamsh
Bull Dog
Posts: 689
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:49 pm

Re: Sticky Mortar

Post by TheJamsh »

Did no-one read my post? Or Look at this thread OR Watch The Video?

I have actually achieved it if you look at them. The test video is a few days out of date, so its a tad more reliable now. Weapon mine wouldn't make it any better, if anything would make it worse. I used the building/flare tap method i described back a few threads. Now the weapon Locks down your ship/building and heavily affects your handling.
User avatar
Nielk1
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2991
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Sticky Mortar

Post by Nielk1 »

Though a weaponmine with infinitesimal range might work to assure an attachment of only 1.
User avatar
TheJamsh
Bull Dog
Posts: 689
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:49 pm

Re: Sticky Mortar

Post by TheJamsh »

Nielk1 wrote:Though a weaponmine with infinitesimal range might work to assure an attachment of only 1.
Its not a mega-bad idea. Only problem with it is, it will be generated at ground level if its not tapped to a building (like the flares are now), or it will end up shooting the wrong enemy. I guess it depends how fast weapon mine reaction time is.

I'll have a play, seeing as WM will aim in the general direction of the craft, it may be worthwhile. I would however love to know what the flags do under [WeaponMineClass]. Haven't made them have much effect on behaviour yet.
User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Sticky Mortar

Post by General BlackDragon »

something to be known about weaponmine class: It can miss.

Poppers, however...never miss. (in terms of aim)
User avatar
TheJamsh
Bull Dog
Posts: 689
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:49 pm

Re: Sticky Mortar

Post by TheJamsh »

Going to be hard to:

Spawn a building at point of spraybomb impact.
Tap weapon mine to building
weapon mine targets closest vehicle
weapon mine fires invisible popper
popper fires visible sticky rounds

TWICE, in less than one tenth of a second to look seamless.
User avatar
blue banana
Sabre
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:08 pm
Location: Banana Land, UTC−6:00 MDT
Contact:

Re: Sticky Mortar

Post by blue banana »

plus popper is not like a shadower/hornet/comet, it goes in a straight line once it locks and is pretty much good for stationary/slow moving units. it also does no splash damage, making it a hit or miss, without any damage dont around it

someone should make a splash damage popper though, that would be pretty effective
User avatar
TheJamsh
Bull Dog
Posts: 689
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:49 pm

Re: Sticky Mortar

Post by TheJamsh »

He means popper as in, the weapon mine could use the popper code to lock onto a nearby target.

Easy to make it deal splash damage
User avatar
S.cavA.rmyG.en
Sabre
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:15 am
Location: ISDF Junk Yard
Contact:

Re: Sticky Mortar

Post by S.cavA.rmyG.en »

I would however love to know what the flags do under [WeaponMineClass]
heres some of my qustions for any one that knows.
what flags control its AIs aim?
can It use other AI?
can they be set up to use more then one weapon?
and heres what I know

Code: Select all

[GameObjectClass]
geometryName = NULL
classLabel = "weaponmine"
scrapCost = 0
scrapValue = 0
maxHealth = 1000
maxAmmo = 3e7
unitName = "Arc Mine"

weaponHard1 = "Arc Mine"//still works not sure why
weaponName1 = "gjax"
[MineClass]
lifeSpan = 5e6

[WeaponMineClass]
searchRadius = 20.0//range it looks for targets in.
heightScale = 2.0//no idea what this dose
User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Sticky Mortar

Post by General BlackDragon »

[WeaponMineClass]
searchRadius = 20.0 // Range in which it searches for targets, duh...
heightScale = 2.0 // I BELIEVE this is...either A: How high up the weapon emits from, or B: ...Ask Ken ?
User avatar
Ded10c
Recycler
Posts: 3815
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:05 am
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Contact:

Re: Sticky Mortar

Post by Ded10c »

This is where the Modlog was useful :/
User avatar
Nielk1
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2991
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Sticky Mortar

Post by Nielk1 »

AHadley wrote:This is where the Modlog was useful :/
Only for new functions.

Height scale might be related to BZ1. Just guessing, but I am betting BZ1 didn't have HPs and such for weapon origin on the mines. It sounds right up BZ1's ally to have a height offset in the ODF controlling the bolt origin
User avatar
Zax
Attila
Posts: 1388
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:56 am

Re: Sticky Mortar

Post by Zax »

I know of no such thing. Then again, I didn't check bz1 ODFs for weaponmine.
User avatar
jaydenbz2
Thunderbolt
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:19 am

Re: Sticky Mortar

Post by jaydenbz2 »

Ok, I will try to make sticky mortar going of my fuser gun design, I think it is possible through a certain amount of parenting weapon classes.

EDIT: I tried this, not possible without DLL, sorry.
User avatar
TheJamsh
Bull Dog
Posts: 689
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:49 pm

Re: Sticky Mortar

Post by TheJamsh »

I've already done it gahdammit ;)

Its hard to find threads that have been updated on this new forum...
Post Reply