Beam to move things with

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

Draco
Scrap
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:58 am

Beam to move things with

Post by Draco » Sat Sep 15, 2012 5:28 pm

I am trying to make a beam weapon that can move vehicles. For example I shoot it at a Sabre, and aim upwards it moves it upwards, or just move it up and left and throw it away somewhere. That kind of. Any ideas how to make if even possible?

User avatar
S.cavA.rmyG.en
Sabre
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:15 am
Location: ISDF Junk Yard
Contact:

Re: Beam to move things with

Post by S.cavA.rmyG.en » Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:17 pm

Draco wrote:I am trying to make a beam weapon that can move vehicles. For example I shoot it at a Sabre, and aim upwards it moves it upwards, or just move it up and left and throw it away somewhere. That kind of. Any ideas how to make if even possible?
yes it is possible.
there are many ways to do it depending on what you want it to do.
1.do you want it to just move the thing you point it at or move every thing to where yor pointing?
2.do you want it to do damage or not?
3.do you want it to effect other ordence?
4.do you want it to pass through units?
5.what range do you want it to have?
Last edited by S.cavA.rmyG.en on Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
4 THINGS TO REMEMBER:
1.Professionals are predictable,amateurs are dangerous
2.If you can't remember, the Big Gun is always aimed at you.
3.If it's stupid but works, it's not stupid,it's crazy.
4.Anything you do can get you killed,even if it's nothing

User avatar
Zero Angel
Attila
Posts: 1536
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Beam to move things with

Post by Zero Angel » Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:30 pm

'Magnet' classlabel for the ordnance (like sonic blast), also a negative shotradius for the ordance (to prevent it from colliding with things and exploding). The slide ray included in FE as well as the one included in the TVEditor for 1.3 has a similar function.
Regulators
Regulate any stealin' of this biometal pool, we're damn good, too
But you can't be any geek off the street
Gotta be handy with the chains if you know what I mean
Earn your keep

Draco
Scrap
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Beam to move things with

Post by Draco » Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:32 pm

S.cavA.rmyG.en wrote:
Draco wrote:I am trying to make a beam weapon that can move vehicles. For example I shoot it at a Sabre, and aim upwards it moves it upwards, or just move it up and left and throw it away somewhere. That kind of. Any ideas how to make if even possible?
yes it is possible.
there are many ways to do it depending on what you want it to do.
1.do you want it to just move the thing you point it at or move every thing to where yor pointing?
2.do you want it to do damage or not?
3.do you want it to effect other ordence?
4.do you want it to pass through units?
5.what range do you want it to have?
1. The vehicle I am pointing at is the one I want or throw anywhere I want to.
2. Nope, no dmg.
3. Uhm, no.
4. No.
5. 200m?
:)

User avatar
S.cavA.rmyG.en
Sabre
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:15 am
Location: ISDF Junk Yard
Contact:

Re: Beam to move things with

Post by S.cavA.rmyG.en » Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:38 pm

ordemce

Code: Select all

[OrdnanceClass]
classLabel = "MagnetShell"
shotSound = "sonic03b.wav"
shotGeometry = NULL
shotRadius = -40.0
xplGround = "xsonicgnd_c"
xplVehicle = "xsoniccar_c"
xplBuilding = "xsoniccar_c"
renderName = "flash_a.render"
ammoCost = 30
lifeSpan = 1.5 // 150m
shotSpeed = 100.0
damageValue(N) = 0 // none
damageValue(L) = 0 // light
damageValue(H) = 0 // heavy
damageValue(S) = 0 // standard
damageValue(D) = 0 // deflection
damageValue(A) = 0 // absorbtion
[MagnetShellClass]
triggerDelay = 0.0
fieldRadius = 10.0 // 20.0 // 2.76
objPushCenter = 0.0
objPushEdge = -30.0
objDrag = 2.1
ordPushCenter = 0.0 // 300.0 // 700.0
ordPushEdge = 0.0 // 30.0 // 500.0
ordDrag = 0.0
weapon

Code: Select all

[WeaponClass]
classLabel = "machinegun"
altName = "" //what you named this weapon -.odf
ordName = ""// what you named the ordence -.odf
wpnName = ""//what ever you want
fireSound = "gchain01.wav"
wpnReticle = "gchain"
wpnCategory = "CAN"
isAssault = 0
flashName = "gchain_a.flash"
aiRange = 200

[CannonClass]
shotDelay = 0.1
shotVariance = 0.05
power up

Code: Select all

[GameObjectClass]
geometryName = "apcann00.xsi"
classLabel = "wpnpower"
scrapCost = 10
scrapValue = 0
maxHealth = 150
maxAmmo = 0
unitName = NULL
aiName = "PowerUpProcess"
lightHard1 = "hp_light_1"
lightName1 = "omnipurple"
[PowerUpClass]
soundPickup = "pickup01.wav"
soundReject = "reject.wav"

[WeaponPowerupClass]
weaponName = ""//what you named this weapon -.odf
Last edited by S.cavA.rmyG.en on Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:58 pm, edited 3 times in total.
4 THINGS TO REMEMBER:
1.Professionals are predictable,amateurs are dangerous
2.If you can't remember, the Big Gun is always aimed at you.
3.If it's stupid but works, it's not stupid,it's crazy.
4.Anything you do can get you killed,even if it's nothing

Draco
Scrap
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Beam to move things with

Post by Draco » Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:43 pm

Wait wait, how do I use that code? Where do I put it :P? As in, is that the ODF in a whole or what?

User avatar
S.cavA.rmyG.en
Sabre
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:15 am
Location: ISDF Junk Yard
Contact:

Re: Beam to move things with

Post by S.cavA.rmyG.en » Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:47 pm

Draco wrote:Wait wait, how do I use that code? Where do I put it :P? As in, is that the ODF in a whole or what?
save it as a .odf name it how you want and put it in the addion folder.
you still need to do some editing where it i put //
that and you need a odf for the power up.
Last edited by S.cavA.rmyG.en on Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
4 THINGS TO REMEMBER:
1.Professionals are predictable,amateurs are dangerous
2.If you can't remember, the Big Gun is always aimed at you.
3.If it's stupid but works, it's not stupid,it's crazy.
4.Anything you do can get you killed,even if it's nothing

User avatar
Axeminister
Sabre
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 4:03 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Beam to move things with

Post by Axeminister » Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:49 pm

There is a rocket in X-mod that does that. You press button and hold to hit enemy, point at the landscape somewhere and release and the weapon slings the enemy there.
He who does not advance themselves, endlessly becomes themselves.

http://www.reverbnation.com/tunepak/3606640

Draco
Scrap
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Beam to move things with

Post by Draco » Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:52 pm

It's assault? What? ...

User avatar
S.cavA.rmyG.en
Sabre
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:15 am
Location: ISDF Junk Yard
Contact:

Re: Beam to move things with

Post by S.cavA.rmyG.en » Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:54 pm

Draco wrote:It's assault? What? ...
fixed it re-copy the weapon and I added a power up .odf
so dose It work or dose it need work?
4 THINGS TO REMEMBER:
1.Professionals are predictable,amateurs are dangerous
2.If you can't remember, the Big Gun is always aimed at you.
3.If it's stupid but works, it's not stupid,it's crazy.
4.Anything you do can get you killed,even if it's nothing

Draco
Scrap
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Beam to move things with

Post by Draco » Sat Sep 15, 2012 7:06 pm

Well apparently...

1) The explosions damaged the objects.
2) The beams moved slowly...
3) They only pushed objects away? Can't even get them up.
4) Move forward it pushed me forward quite fast.

I wanted a beam I could hold a sabre with and move it freely. Not push it away...

User avatar
S.cavA.rmyG.en
Sabre
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:15 am
Location: ISDF Junk Yard
Contact:

Re: Beam to move things with

Post by S.cavA.rmyG.en » Sat Sep 15, 2012 7:14 pm

Draco wrote:Well apparently...

1) The explosions damaged the objects.
2) The beams moved slowly...
3) They only pushed objects away? Can't even get them up.
4) Move forward it pushed me forward quite fast.

I wanted a beam I could hold a sabre with and move it freely. Not push it away...
ok let me see....
try this ordence.

Code: Select all

[OrdnanceClass]
classLabel = "MagnetShell"
shotSound = "sonic03b.wav"
shotGeometry = NULL
shotRadius = -40.0
renderName = "flash_a.render"
ammoCost = 30
lifeSpan = 1.5 // 150m
shotSpeed = 2e3
damageValue(N) = 0 // none
damageValue(L) = 0 // light
damageValue(H) = 0 // heavy
damageValue(S) = 0 // standard
damageValue(D) = 0 // deflection
damageValue(A) = 0 // absorbtion
[MagnetShellClass]
triggerDelay = 0.0
fieldRadius = 30.0 // 20.0 // 2.76
objPushCenter = 0.0
objPushEdge = -30.0
objDrag = 2.1
ordPushCenter = 0.0 // 300.0 // 700.0
ordPushEdge = 0.0 // 30.0 // 500.0
ordDrag = 0.0
4 THINGS TO REMEMBER:
1.Professionals are predictable,amateurs are dangerous
2.If you can't remember, the Big Gun is always aimed at you.
3.If it's stupid but works, it's not stupid,it's crazy.
4.Anything you do can get you killed,even if it's nothing

User avatar
DarkCobra262
Sabre
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Beam to move things with

Post by DarkCobra262 » Sat Sep 15, 2012 7:27 pm

Makes me think of a tractor beam but like a tug?
Modding/Modelling like a noob...

User avatar
S.cavA.rmyG.en
Sabre
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:15 am
Location: ISDF Junk Yard
Contact:

Re: Beam to move things with

Post by S.cavA.rmyG.en » Sat Sep 15, 2012 7:33 pm

untested

Code: Select all

[OrdnanceClass]
classLabel = "MagnetShell"
shotSound = "sonic03b.wav"
shotGeometry = NULL
shotRadius = 10
renderName = "flash_a.render"
ammoCost = 30
lifeSpan = 1.0 // 200m
shotSpeed = 2e2
damageValue(N) = 0 // none
damageValue(L) = 0 // light
damageValue(H) = 0 // heavy
damageValue(S) = 0 // standard
damageValue(D) = 0 // deflection
damageValue(A) = 0 // absorbtion
[MagnetShellClass]
TeamFilter = 4
triggerDelay = 0.0
fieldRadius = 40.0 // 20.0 // 2.76
objPushCenter = 0.0
objPushEdge = -30.0
objDrag = 4.1
ordPushCenter = 0.0 // 300.0 // 700.0
ordPushEdge = 0.0 // 30.0 // 500.0
ordDrag = 0.0
4 THINGS TO REMEMBER:
1.Professionals are predictable,amateurs are dangerous
2.If you can't remember, the Big Gun is always aimed at you.
3.If it's stupid but works, it's not stupid,it's crazy.
4.Anything you do can get you killed,even if it's nothing

User avatar
Ded10c
Recycler
Posts: 3815
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:05 am
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Contact:

Re: Beam to move things with

Post by Ded10c » Sat Sep 15, 2012 7:38 pm

Scav, it would have been much better to let him figure it out himself from tips we gave him than to simply do it for him.
battlezone.wikia.com needs your help!

Post Reply