Voice Overs

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

Post Reply
redmenace
Scrap
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:14 am

Voice Overs

Post by redmenace » Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:52 am

Battlezone 2 never gets old, however, hearing those units voices over and over gets stale at times. also, the fact that the scions have russian units bothers me as well, as it does not bode well with story continuity (unless I'm crazy and the scions are NOT the former black dog squadron)

So heres what I want to do: record my voice to give all the units some new personality, then upload it so anyone may enjoy it. also, once set up I can do voice overs for your mod

Here's what I got: I use audacity to record audio tracks, and I own a vocal processor for adding cool effects. I'm also pretty talented at doing impersonations, accents ect.

Here's what I NEED: I need to know if there is any additional software to be downloaded. I need to know what files do what and how to change them. I am completely new to modding and have very little expierience so explaining in lamens terms would be preferable.

thanks guys!

=Red=

User avatar
S.cavA.rmyG.en
Sabre
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:15 am
Location: ISDF Junk Yard
Contact:

Re: Voice Overs

Post by S.cavA.rmyG.en » Thu Nov 10, 2011 2:57 pm

save them as .wav files but with mono sound BZ2 will not play it other wize.

I think audacity can do that but I am not sure becouse I havent used it in a wile.
to have bz use the sounds you need to name them the same as the stock sounds and over right them.
that will not couse BA but will take some work to do.

.pak explorer if you dont have it get it form http://www.bzscrap.org
you will need it to open your dada.pak and find the names of the stock sounds you want to change.

do not change any thing in the dada.pak save you sounds in a new folder inside the addion folder.

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Voice Overs

Post by General BlackDragon » Thu Nov 10, 2011 4:01 pm

S.cavA.rmyG.en wrote:BZ2 will not play it other wize.
lies.

But yes, you should use mono for everything except shell music.

Col Klink
Sabre
Posts: 368
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 8:24 am
Contact:

Re: Voice Overs

Post by Col Klink » Thu Nov 10, 2011 4:10 pm

It better not to touch (rename) the stock assets as you may inadvertenly screw up your BZII installation. Perhaps a recyler variant would be one way to accomplish what you want to change. I think other audio formats are supported now like OGG, but I'm not sure though.

Perhaps some other modders can help you on the information aspect. I've done a few voice overs and modified the original ODF audio entries. It's not hard at all. Just remember to leave the stock assets alone to avoid headaches later on.

User avatar
GSH
Patch Creator
Posts: 2478
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:55 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Voice Overs

Post by GSH » Thu Nov 10, 2011 5:10 pm

.wav and .ogg files do not count to the asset checker. Why? Because at launch, BZ2 was sold in English, French and German versions. And they have 3 sets of voiceovers.

In short, this should not cause bad assets. But, clearly separating your addon files to a new folder is best for easy install/uninstall.

-- GSH

User avatar
Ded10c
Recycler
Posts: 3811
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:05 am
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Contact:

Re: Voice Overs

Post by Ded10c » Thu Nov 10, 2011 5:54 pm

The Scions are not *just* the Black Dogs. There must have been (and were) other humans who became Scion, else how would there be so many?

I use GoldWave and Cubase for editing audio, and I'd recommend GoldWave; it costs money, unlike Audacity, but as far as I'm concerned it's far, far better.

User avatar
Nielk1
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2991
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Voice Overs

Post by Nielk1 » Thu Nov 10, 2011 9:13 pm

I think stereo for shell level sounds is fine, it is sounds in 3D space that must be mono.

User avatar
Axeminister
Sabre
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 4:03 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Voice Overs

Post by Axeminister » Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:42 pm

Battlezone II can recycle pilots, so it goes to reason you can make as many copies as you want. It's just not in the story.

redmenace
Scrap
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:14 am

Re: Voice Overs

Post by redmenace » Fri Nov 11, 2011 7:44 pm

Where can I find the Voice over files?

User avatar
Nielk1
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2991
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Voice Overs

Post by Nielk1 » Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:47 pm

redmenace wrote:Where can I find the Voice over files?
All game files are either in data.pak, patch13.pak, or the addon folder. The first listed is overridden by those listed after. In this case, the sound files have probably not been changed in 1.3 nor should there be new ones in addon, so it is safe to go to the data.pak file to get at them.

drbubblegum
Scrap
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:52 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Voice Overs

Post by drbubblegum » Mon Apr 11, 2016 1:04 am

Sorry to bump such an old thread but I was brought here in search of the voice files for BZ2. I've read through all the files listed on BZScrap but can't find anything listed data.pak. If someone could tell me which order to click to find them I'd be very happy.

User avatar
Red Devil
Recycler
Posts: 4398
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 5:10 pm
Location: High in the Rocky Mountains

Re: Voice Overs

Post by Red Devil » Mon Apr 11, 2016 3:06 pm

data.pak is in the root directory of your bz2 install.
If given the truth, the people can be depended upon to meet any national crisis. The great point is to bring them the real facts - and beer.
Abraham Lincoln

Battlestrat, FE, G66, In The Shadows, Starfleet, Uler, & ZTV

Lifetime member of JBS and NRA

Post Reply