Version 1.5.1.11 (2012-06-07) - revised!

Moderators: GSH, Ultraken

User avatar
Ultraken
Patch Creator
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Version 1.5.1.11 (2012-06-07) - revised!

Post by Ultraken » Thu Jun 07, 2012 8:12 am

A lot changed over the last week...

(Revised with a quick fix for the fourth and fifth mouse buttons)


Downloads:

Testing Executable and Symbols
Updated Assets (2012-06-07)


What's New

* Fixed a bug that marked sloped and steep terrain as forbidden
- This should fix "disobedient" Scavengers

* Fixed music trying to play an unlocked resource
- I'm surprised this didn't crash outright...

* Disabled logging output from the mission version check
- This reduces the noticeable "hang" in the shell
- This also reduces music skipping in the shell

* Set Ogg Vorbis DirectSound buffer channels and rate from the file
- It previously assumed two channels and 44100 Hz

* Fixed navigation mesh not being rebuilt after editing terrain

* Satellite view uses the original oriented build template
- There isn't any solid terrain for it to interfere with :)

* Completely changed how nationality works
- Uses the first letter of the ODF as a nation code (like BZ2)
. No longer limited to American ('a', 'b'), Soviet ('s'), and Alien ('h', 'o')
. Special case: player.odf is assigned to American ('a')
- Determine pilot, user, Recycler, sounds, etc. from nation code
. Fall back to 'a' or 's' when nation-specific assets don't exist
- This allows Chinese and Black Dog factions from Red Odyssey
. The Chinese units don't cloak, of course

* Added Scavenger-specific message properties
- deployMsg: default avscav1.wav or svscav1.wav
- foundMsg: default avscav5.wav or svscav5.wav
- notFoundMsg: default avscavh.wav or svscavh.wav
- noDropMsg: default avscavi.wav or svscavi.wav
- These were previously hard-coded in the AI process

* APC no longer reloads at an undeployed Recycler

* Replaced reachability check with region identifiers
- Uses a two-pass connected component labeling algorithm
- Assigns valid region id to regions containing "interesting" objects
. It uses the same objects that the old flood fill used as seeds
- Goal is reachable only if its start and goal regions are valid and match
. This fixes performance problems on maps with disconnected regions

* Updated PathDisplay
- Changed Draw Height to use a broader grayscale ramp
- Added Draw Slope to show terrain slope (lighter means steeper)
- Added Draw Cell Region to show pathing regions
- Show plan path in red if it isn't valid (e.g. disconnected)

* Fixed some issues with Ogg Vorbis worker threads
- Use a critical section to protect against multithreading problems
- Allow threads to run on any processor instead of forcing them to #1
- Fixed threads exiting after resuming from a debug break

* Updated file system
- Read contents of ZFS files in addon
. They work like folders for the most part
- Prints ZIX file list to debug output
. Prefixes used paths with @
. Prefixes overridden paths with !

* Use points of all named paths to mark regions as interesting
- If a designer put a path somewhere, it's probably interesting
- Exception: edge_path

* Set primary audio buffer to 44KHz and 16-bit
- This should improve quality when mixing a lot of channels
- Modern hardware should handle this just fine
- Technically it should be an audio option...

* Removed code that changed the system mouse speed
- This was a holdover from before 1.5

* Use raw mouse input events when available
- This should bypass any Windows pointer acceleration

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Version 1.5.1.11 (2012-06-07) - revised!

Post by General BlackDragon » Thu Jun 07, 2012 2:22 pm

OMG i can play as BDOG in mp now! WOOHOO!

I love you ken.


EDIT: Found a bug!

Bdog ships you can't hop out of in MP.

EDIT: Fixed it. They need bsuser.odf. EDIT: They also need bspilo for their ships to be able to rescue you.

Here's a fix. Extract this to addon: BDOG bsuser/bspilo fix

This is just a copied asuser.odf /inf and aspilo.odf / inf. Someone may want to get the bspio model from TRO and add it?
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

User avatar
Ultraken
Patch Creator
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 1.5.1.11 (2012-06-07) - revised!

Post by Ultraken » Thu Jun 07, 2012 5:42 pm

I tested them with RO content installed so I missed that case. I need to make them fall back to American pilots if they can't find Black Dog pilots.

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Version 1.5.1.11 (2012-06-07) - revised!

Post by General BlackDragon » Thu Jun 07, 2012 11:52 pm

Tried it on my new rig...

I get the following anytime the game goes from shell > game, or vis versa. Also when the game first starts.

Sooo this happens:

1: When starting game.
2: When launching mission.
3: When entering escape screen.
4: When leaving escape screen.
5: When ending mission.

Hardware specifications:

2X NVidia GT 560 graphics cards, SLI together.
Intel I7 2600k 3.4 ghz processor.
16 GB DDR3 Ram.
Desktop Resolution: 5760 X 1080

Image
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

TideGear
Scrap
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:15 am

Re: Version 1.5.1.11 (2012-06-07) - revised!

Post by TideGear » Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:17 am

If I used the 1.5 Update Package on a clean install of Bz, do I need these 2012-06-07 files? If so, how do I use them?

User avatar
Ultraken
Patch Creator
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 1.5.1.11 (2012-06-07) - revised!

Post by Ultraken » Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:48 am

General BlackDragon wrote:I get the following anytime the game goes from shell > game, or vis versa. Also when the game first starts.
Check your render.cfg; it probably has bad settings for multisampling.
TideGear wrote:If I used the 1.5 Update Package on a clean install of Bz, do I need these 2012-06-07 files? If so, how do I use them?
Yes. Just unpack the contents of bzone_addon_2012-06-07.7z into your addon folder. It'll replace one file (flash.odf) and add two new ones.

TideGear
Scrap
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:15 am

Re: Version 1.5.1.11 (2012-06-07) - revised!

Post by TideGear » Fri Jun 08, 2012 7:06 am

Ultraken wrote:
General BlackDragon wrote:I get the following anytime the game goes from shell > game, or vis versa. Also when the game first starts.
Check your render.cfg; it probably has bad settings for multisampling.
TideGear wrote:If I used the 1.5 Update Package on a clean install of Bz, do I need these 2012-06-07 files? If so, how do I use them?
Yes. Just unpack the contents of bzone_addon_2012-06-07.7z into your addon folder. It'll replace one file (flash.odf) and add two new ones.
Thanks a bunch! You've allowed me to play a game I have really fond memories of.

TideGear
Scrap
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:15 am

Re: Version 1.5.1.11 (2012-06-07) - revised!

Post by TideGear » Fri Jun 08, 2012 7:14 am

Odd, the only files I have in my Addon folder are ini files, but I added these three new files just the same. Worth noting, the old addon folder (that you say should be renamed or deleted) had way more files.

Also, should I do something with the bzint files? Thanks again.

User avatar
Ultraken
Patch Creator
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 1.5.1.11 (2012-06-07) - revised!

Post by Ultraken » Fri Jun 08, 2012 7:30 am

With the exception of the .ini files, everything that used to be in addon is now in the 1.5 patch ZFS. I'll eventually merge the new 1.5.1 stuff into it but for now I'm keeping it separate.

Unpack bzint_<date>.7z into the root folder and it will replace bzint.exe, bzint.pdb, changelog.txt, and buildnotes.txt. Then you're upgraded to that version. :)

TideGear
Scrap
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:15 am

Re: Version 1.5.1.11 (2012-06-07) - revised!

Post by TideGear » Fri Jun 08, 2012 8:05 am

Ultraken wrote:With the exception of the .ini files, everything that used to be in addon is now in the 1.5 patch ZFS. I'll eventually merge the new 1.5.1 stuff into it but for now I'm keeping it separate.

Unpack bzint_<date>.7z into the root folder and it will replace bzint.exe, bzint.pdb, changelog.txt, and buildnotes.txt. Then you're upgraded to that version. :)
I don't have any of those files in my Bz install folder after using the 1.5 Update Package. Should I?

EDIT!: Ah, I see. bzint.exe is the new name for the game's main exe.

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Version 1.5.1.11 (2012-06-07) - revised!

Post by General BlackDragon » Fri Jun 08, 2012 1:44 pm

Ultraken wrote:
General BlackDragon wrote:I get the following anytime the game goes from shell > game, or vis versa. Also when the game first starts.
Check your render.cfg; it probably has bad settings for multisampling.
They're both 0.

MultiSampleType=0
MultiSampleQuality=0


What are the valid values?
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

User avatar
Ultraken
Patch Creator
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 1.5.1.11 (2012-06-07) - revised!

Post by Ultraken » Sat Jun 09, 2012 5:40 am

It varies, but zero is valid for both. In general, MultiSampleType selects the general level of MSAA (e.g. 2x, 4x, 6x, 8x, etc.) while MultiSampleQuality selects between different quality settings at that level. MultiSampleType 1 is a special case that uses MultiSampleQuality as an index into the driver's list of MSAA modes.

I have no idea how it's getting a multisample type of 4425. :shock:

User avatar
Zero Angel
Attila
Posts: 1536
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Version 1.5.1.11 (2012-06-07) - revised!

Post by Zero Angel » Sat Jun 09, 2012 6:29 am

Maybe it is grabbing 4425 samples per pixel. Ultrasampling if you will.
Regulators
Regulate any stealin' of this biometal pool, we're damn good, too
But you can't be any geek off the street
Gotta be handy with the chains if you know what I mean
Earn your keep

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Version 1.5.1.11 (2012-06-07) - revised!

Post by General BlackDragon » Sat Jun 09, 2012 7:31 am

Well setting it to 0, 1, 2, or 4425 does nothing...

Help?
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

User avatar
Ultraken
Patch Creator
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Version 1.5.1.11 (2012-06-07) - revised!

Post by Ultraken » Sat Jun 09, 2012 4:17 pm

I wonder if D3D is reporting an unusually large number of display modes so the list overflows and stomps the multiample type setting. Could you run DirectX Caps Viewer and count how many 16-bit display modes you find in DirectDraw Devices | Primary Display Driver (display) | Video Modes? (I get 640x480, 720x480, 720x576, 800x600, 1024x768, 1152x864, 1280x720, 1280x960, 1280x1024, 1360x768, 1366x768, 1600x1900, 1600x1024, 1600x1200, 1680x1050, 1920x1080, and 1920x1200.)

Post Reply