Release Candidate 13 (2011-11-04)

Moderators: GSH, Ultraken

Post Reply
User avatar
Ultraken
Patch Creator
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Release Candidate 13 (2011-11-04)

Post by Ultraken » Sat Nov 05, 2011 4:59 am

Lucky 13!


Downloads:

Testing Executable and Symbols
Game Assets (updated 2011-10-13)


What's New

* Fixed players being able to join a game when it had more players than the limit
- The shell now checks if the current count is greater than or equal to the limit

* Pilot entering a vehicle only clears the command if the unit was an enemy
- This fixes a design idiom used on a number of IA maps
- (Designers place neutral units with pre-set commands and activate them by spawning pilots nearby)

* Allow Scavengers to collect scrap and Minelayers to lay mines in hazard areas
- This restores 1.4 behavior and avoids a lot of player confusion

* Fixed the camera following the wrong entity after a cinematic if the user changed in the meantime

* Building perimeters now use a dedicated "perimeter" cell type instead of abusing "sloped"
- It's tuned to discourage units from navigating between buildings and impassable terrain
- This should fix some cases where units get stuck trying to go places they shouldn't

Firestorm29
Rattler
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:43 am

Re: Release Candidate 13 (2011-11-04)

Post by Firestorm29 » Sun Nov 06, 2011 1:00 pm

Will changing this design idiom you mentioned mess up any AI maps, or is it to make it easier to create IA maps?

User avatar
Ultraken
Patch Creator
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Release Candidate 13 (2011-11-04)

Post by Ultraken » Sun Nov 06, 2011 2:36 pm

A change in the previous build made the technique stop working; this build just makes it work again. :)

Rocket3497
Drunken Scav
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:56 am

Re: Release Candidate 13 (2011-11-04)

Post by Rocket3497 » Wed Nov 09, 2011 11:15 pm

I tried installing the latest bz1 update several times, I just can't get it to work. could someone give me instructions of how to apply this update properly? thanks.

I am running Windows 7 32-bit.

User avatar
HitchcockGreen
Bull Dog
Posts: 504
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 4:26 am

Re: Release Candidate 13 (2011-11-04)

Post by HitchcockGreen » Thu Nov 10, 2011 4:17 am

Rocket3497 wrote:I tried installing the latest bz1 update several times, I just can't get it to work. could someone give me instructions of how to apply this update properly? thanks.

I am running Windows 7 32-bit.
Well let's take it a step back, what are you installing from? The original CD? A standalone installer?

Fulmen
Thunderbolt
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 3:19 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: Release Candidate 13 (2011-11-04)

Post by Fulmen » Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:23 pm

Rocket3497 wrote:I tried installing the latest bz1 update several times, I just can't get it to work. could someone give me instructions of how to apply this update properly? thanks.

I am running Windows 7 32-bit.
Are you using bzint_d3d9.exe to launch the game? I have Windows 7 64-bit and that one works fine for me.

Rocket3497
Drunken Scav
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:56 am

Re: Release Candidate 13 (2011-11-04)

Post by Rocket3497 » Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:49 pm

Okay, I've gotten almost everything to work, I loaded into a mission and got a sprite error. Everything looks fine except there is no text, and a lot of the Hud stuff, like the weapon slots, and the health and ammo guages, and the radar, are messed up. I thought it might have to do with the graphics card so tried turning the graphics card off in the bz options, but it wouldn't switch to "off" it just stays on.

Anybody know how to fix the sprites?

Firestorm29
Rattler
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:43 am

Re: Release Candidate 13 (2011-11-04)

Post by Firestorm29 » Sat Nov 12, 2011 12:49 pm

All switching off the graphics card does is turn off the accelerated graphics.

I think in order to fix this, we might need to know what sort of graphics card you have. I've noticed from times past that ATI and nVidia can present different problems.

Rocket3497
Drunken Scav
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:56 am

Re: Release Candidate 13 (2011-11-04)

Post by Rocket3497 » Sun Nov 13, 2011 12:45 am

I'm using an nVidia GTS 450 graphics card.

But yeah, that's what I was thinking, I was thinking that if it was the graphics card then if I turned off hardware acceleration it might fix the sprites, but it wouldn't allow me to do that.

so most likely it might be fixed in an update? or is there a way to fix it sooner?

Firestorm29
Rattler
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:43 am

Re: Release Candidate 13 (2011-11-04)

Post by Firestorm29 » Sun Nov 13, 2011 1:00 pm

Rocket3497 wrote:I'm using an nVidia GTS 450 graphics card.

But yeah, that's what I was thinking, I was thinking that if it was the graphics card then if I turned off hardware acceleration it might fix the sprites, but it wouldn't allow me to do that.

so most likely it might be fixed in an update? or is there a way to fix it sooner?
I think what you need is to change an option in your config.txt, which holds your graphics options. I don't know which option would fix your problem though, I'm not very experienced with this one. I think Eddy might be of better help here.

User avatar
Ultraken
Patch Creator
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Release Candidate 13 (2011-11-04)

Post by Ultraken » Sun Nov 13, 2011 5:56 pm

In addition to the new executable, make sure you have the common files and the updated assets.

Apollo
Sabre
Posts: 456
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 9:51 pm

Re: Release Candidate 13 (2011-11-04)

Post by Apollo » Tue Nov 15, 2011 12:38 pm

To turn off the Hardware Graphics use /sw in the target line of the shortcut icon.

Post Reply