Battlezone II team colors

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

User avatar
RotatorX
Sober Scav
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:20 pm
Contact:

Battlezone II team colors

Post by RotatorX » Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:27 pm

How would I change my team color in an instant action map? Making game.teamcolors 1 just makes my team red, but I want to change it to green!
Battlezone Classic Tester

User avatar
Red Spot
Attila
Posts: 1629
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:14 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Battlezone II team colors

Post by Red Spot » Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:56 pm

See my answer in your other topic, in particular the bit about modlog files and them holding great power.

Have a look at "-BZ2 root-\addon\config" and play around with those files.

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II team colors

Post by General BlackDragon » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:22 pm

Gameprefs.ini has Teamcolor settings in it. Copy these into the "localprefs.ini" file with notepad:

Code: Select all

// Default teamcolors for DM/FFA. These will be pushed from the server
// to clients. If you don't like what the server pushed to you as a
// client, look at the console commands game.setdefaultcolors,
// game.setgameprefscolors, game.setservercolors,
// game.swapteamcolors. There are also network chat commands
// "/setdefaultcolors", "/setgameprefscolors", "/setservercolors", and
// "/swapteamcolors" , which do the same thing.
//
// If a teamcolor is all zeroes for the first 3 values (e.g. red,
// green & blue), then it's treated as not used -- the default skin
// for a unit is used. If any of r/g/b is not zero, then it's used,
// and the alpha value is set to 255.
//
// Further notes on use -- these colors are a *multiplier* on the
// current colors. You should treat them as having an implicit
// divide-by-255 when they're used -- i.e. setting a channel to 255
// means multiplying by 255/255, i.e. multiplying by 1.0. If you set a
// channel to 127, you're multiplying by 127/255, i.e. multiplying by
// 0.5. Thus, there's no way to brighten up the current colors, only
// darken. The 'current color' referred to above is what DX9
// calculated from various things, including the vertex color in the
// model, base texture (skin), and any lighting applied.

// FFA & DM colors, one per team.
TeamColorFFA0 = "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA1 = "255  31  31 255" // red
TeamColorFFA2 = "255 255  31 255" // yellow
TeamColorFFA3 = " 31 255  31 255" // green
TeamColorFFA4 = " 31  31 255 255" // blue
TeamColorFFA5 = " 31 255 255 255" // cyan
TeamColorFFA6 = "255  31 255 255" // violet
TeamColorFFA7 = "255 255 255 255" // white
TeamColorFFA8 = " 31  31  31 255" // black
TeamColorFFA9 = "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA10= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA11= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA12= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA13= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA14= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA15= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color

// And, for teamplay (i.e. team strat or MPI) games, the teamcolors.
// TeamA is used for teams 1..5, and TeamB is for teams 6..10
TeamColorTeamA = "255 31 31 255" // red
TeamColorTeamB = "31 31 255 255" // blue

// Per-team colors, even w/ teamplay on. The '0' slot is for the
// commander; 1..4 are thugs. Note - if these are not specified
// (i.e. they're commented out w/ the // at the left end of the line),
// then the TeamColorA/TeamColorB is auto-copied into these values

//TeamColorTeamA0 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA1 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA2 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA3 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA4 = "255 31 31 255" // red

//TeamColorTeamB0 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB1 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB2 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB3 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB4 = "31 31 255 255" // blue

Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

User avatar
RotatorX
Sober Scav
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II team colors

Post by RotatorX » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:49 pm

Hmm, I'm still getting red while using game.teamcolors 1 or 2.

Here's what my gameprefs looks like:

Code: Select all

// The following are settable by the user. They are assigned to the
// default values, as if this file was empty. Comments above them
// should indicate what possible settings are available.

// Note that only things that cannot affect game synchronization are
// in here (views, etc).

// User's changes should be placed in this file, below the
// [UserPrefs] line below.

[UserPrefs]

// FFA & DM colors, one per team.
TeamColorFFA0 = "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA1 = "255  31  31 255" // red
TeamColorFFA2 = "255 255  31 255" // yellow
TeamColorFFA3 = " 31 255  31 255" // green
TeamColorFFA4 = " 31  31 255 255" // blue
TeamColorFFA5 = " 31 255 255 255" // cyan
TeamColorFFA6 = "255  31 255 255" // violet
TeamColorFFA7 = "255 255 255 255" // white
TeamColorFFA8 = " 31  31  31 255" // black
TeamColorFFA9 = "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA10= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA11= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA12= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA13= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA14= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA15= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color

// And, for teamplay (i.e. team strat or MPI) games, the teamcolors.
// TeamA is used for teams 1..5, and TeamB is for teams 6..10
TeamColorTeamA = "255 31 31 255" // red
TeamColorTeamB = "31 31 255 255" // blue

// Per-team colors, even w/ teamplay on. The '0' slot is for the
// commander; 1..4 are thugs. Note - if these are not specified
// (i.e. they're commented out w/ the // at the left end of the line),
// then the TeamColorA/TeamColorB is auto-copied into these values

//TeamColorTeamA0 = "31 31 255 255" // blue 
//TeamColorTeamA1 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamA2 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA3 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA4 = "255 31 31 255" // red

//TeamColorTeamB0 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB1 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB2 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB3 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB4 = "31 31 255 255" // blue

If I remember correctly, isn't there a utility out there that allows me to set the colors?
Battlezone Classic Tester

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II team colors

Post by General BlackDragon » Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:05 pm

You would need to edit these for Team Play colors:

TeamColorTeamA = "255 31 31 255" // red
TeamColorTeamB = "31 31 255 255" // blue

In your file, Team 1 (A) is still colored red. The numbers are in order: Red Green Blue Alpha. 0 - 255 are the valid ranges, combine them to create the color you want.
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

TwinShadow
Sabre
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Battlezone II team colors

Post by TwinShadow » Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:39 pm

To use the FFA colors, you would need to edit one other entry in the localprefs.ini file. I forgot what it was since I don't have a BZ2 install on my laptop.

Also, to use black colors, they can't be 0,0,0 because then the game won't recognize it and use a default setting instead. You can use 1,1,1 to get a black color, which is what I do in combination with AHadley's team color textures. Looks amazing actually. The glow color of default don't look so good IMO, which is why I love that new texture pack. Unfortunately to get it, you need the UEP which doesn't fully work in 1.3 PB6.3 and its pretty much abandoned, so it will probably never be updated.

But, the LMM works on its own though which is all that I about use anyway.

You can look on the wiki for a list of colors and their RGB values, I use that as a reference for the color schemes I use on my install.
If you happen to be looking through my posts, I have completely dumped all things related to Battlezone. Do not contact me, do not bother me. Been harassed enough as it is and am done entirely.

User avatar
Ded10c
Recycler
Posts: 3815
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:05 am
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II team colors

Post by Ded10c » Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:11 pm

LMM is definitely the way to go to get this working, but Nielk1 wants to upgrade it before he releases it standalone.
battlezone.wikia.com needs your help!

User avatar
RotatorX
Sober Scav
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II team colors

Post by RotatorX » Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:27 pm

AHadley wrote:LMM is definitely the way to go to get this working, but Nielk1 wants to upgrade it before he releases it standalone.
AHA! LMM was what I used! I remember it being very easy to swap team colors when I wanted. Obligatory n00b questions:



Can I implement its use in other mods?

What is the difference between that, and the mod manager I found here? http://www.bzscrap.org/downloads/Utilities/BZ2/mm5/
Battlezone Classic Tester

TwinShadow
Sabre
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Battlezone II team colors

Post by TwinShadow » Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:25 pm

MM5 just allowed easier switching between mods.

LMM on the other hand has a bunch of tweaks that don't cause bad assets.
If you happen to be looking through my posts, I have completely dumped all things related to Battlezone. Do not contact me, do not bother me. Been harassed enough as it is and am done entirely.

User avatar
RotatorX
Sober Scav
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II team colors

Post by RotatorX » Thu Mar 21, 2013 1:07 pm

Uh oh, problem. :(

Whenever I make the teamcolors two different colors, both teams are always the same color in IA. No matter what mode I use, both teams are always the same.
Battlezone Classic Tester

User avatar
Ded10c
Recycler
Posts: 3815
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:05 am
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II team colors

Post by Ded10c » Thu Mar 21, 2013 2:19 pm

That's odd. Try setting game.teamcolors to 2 and see what happens.
battlezone.wikia.com needs your help!

User avatar
RotatorX
Sober Scav
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II team colors

Post by RotatorX » Thu Mar 21, 2013 2:34 pm

AHadley wrote:That's odd. Try setting game.teamcolors to 2 and see what happens.
Tried all of them, doesn't work.
Battlezone Classic Tester

User avatar
Nielk1
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2991
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II team colors

Post by Nielk1 » Thu Mar 21, 2013 3:07 pm

AHadley, if you want to pack up LMM1 for distribution feel free. I cannot say when I would have time to make a newer version.

User avatar
Red Spot
Attila
Posts: 1629
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:14 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Battlezone II team colors

Post by Red Spot » Thu Mar 21, 2013 4:10 pm

Add the bit below to your newkeys file (modified bzgame_keys.cfg).
You can use it to give yourself a slight strategic advantage.
In a similair fashion as there are lots of keys you can map that will help you ingame, like fog- and viewrange did in 1.2.

Code: Select all

// RS-V: Teamcolor Keys
Bind("+ctrl 6", "game.teamcolors 0"); //No Teamcolors
Bind("+ctrl 7", "game.setgameprefscolors"); //Localpref colors
Bind("+ctrl 8", "game.setservercolors"); //Servers Localpref colors
Bind("+ctrl 9", "game.setdefaultcolors"); //Default teamcolors
Bind("+ctrl 0", "game.swapteamcolors"); //Swap Teamcolors

User avatar
RotatorX
Sober Scav
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II team colors

Post by RotatorX » Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:06 pm

Setting default colors makes both teams red. Swapping team colors makes me blue, and the other side the default color.
Battlezone Classic Tester

Post Reply