Cheats in Single Player Not Working

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

Post Reply
bzoner
Scrap
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 2:33 am

Cheats in Single Player Not Working

Post by bzoner » Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:36 am

I have the latest BZ2 patch. I am trying to get past a mission. I hit CTRL ~, and have typed "game.cheat ai.winmission" or just "ai.winmission" but neither seem to work. Anybody know the magic phrase to win the mission?

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Cheats in Single Player Not Working

Post by General BlackDragon » Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:56 am

Oh, in 1.0 - 1.1 it was "ai.winmission"

1.2 - current, it is: "game.cheat bzwinner"
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

User avatar
Red Spot
Attila
Posts: 1628
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:14 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Cheats in Single Player Not Working

Post by Red Spot » Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:21 pm

Not 100% but iirc you can use 'bzbody' & 'bzammo' under 'game.cheat' in order to get unlimited ammo/hull.

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Cheats in Single Player Not Working

Post by General BlackDragon » Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:29 pm

It's "game.cheat bzbody" and "game.cheat bztnt"
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

User avatar
Ded10c
Recycler
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:05 am
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Contact:

Re: Cheats in Single Player Not Working

Post by Ded10c » Mon Aug 26, 2013 4:02 pm

bzbody: invincibility
bztnt: infinite ammunition
bzfree: free construction
bzradar: radar displays all objects, all the time
bzview: adds satellite view under Shift+F9 (or somewhere thereabouts)
bzwinner: end the mission in success
bzloser: end the mission in failure
bzstealth: stealth the user to team 0
bzunstealth: return the user to team 1
Last edited by Ded10c on Mon Aug 26, 2013 4:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
battlezone.wikia.com needs your help!

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Cheats in Single Player Not Working

Post by General BlackDragon » Mon Aug 26, 2013 4:53 pm

Okay, Ahadley doesn't play either. Your last one is wrong.

game.cheat bzstealth -- sets user's craft to team 0, invisible to AI (can't command)
game.cheat bzunstealth -- sets user's craft to team 1, (default)
game.cheat bzlockaip -- prevents all AIP changes on all teams from happening
game.cheat bzsetaip filename.aip team# - sets AIP on team# (1..15) to the file.
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

User avatar
Ded10c
Recycler
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:05 am
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Contact:

Re: Cheats in Single Player Not Working

Post by Ded10c » Mon Aug 26, 2013 4:56 pm

That was a mistake in copy-pasting. Fixed.
battlezone.wikia.com needs your help!


DaveThorn
Scrap
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 9:33 pm

Re: Cheats in Single Player Not Working

Post by DaveThorn » Thu Feb 12, 2015 1:14 am

Ok so I've got Windows Vista Home Premium with the Service Pack 2 and I've got troubles with the Cheats for Single Player. CTRL + ~ doesn't do anything. I used to play it when it first came out and used the cheats when I got held up. I thought I'd let my son try it but something is going wrong here. I've tried just loading from the disc, downloading the 1.2 Update. I even uninstalled everything and reinstalled from the disc and downloading the 1.3 Update. Nothing seems to work. What am I missing? Oh yeah I've even tried just loading from the BZII\Setup\Setup.exe in case it was a bad load. I don't want him playing multiplayer so I thinik it's ok for him to use the cheats until he gets used to the game.

User avatar
GSH
Patch Creator
Posts: 2479
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:55 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Cheats in Single Player Not Working

Post by GSH » Thu Feb 12, 2015 5:17 pm

There's a long section in the 1.3.6.5 Readme on how some Windows devices steal the ~ key. Quoting from that:
The ~ key doesn't work in game. How do I fix this?
First off, even though it's shown as ~ in the game menus, it's actually using the ` (grave, the apostrophe slanted towards the bottom right) key. Certain keyboards, or the Windows Media Center Edition may try and steal that key. BZ2 is not the only game that has issues with it. Some possible suggestions can be found at http://fallout.wikia.com/wiki/Talk:Fall ... leshooting or http://fallout.wikia.com/wiki/Fallout_3 ... Other_bugs -- there are several pieces of info that might be useful.
Alternatively, you can rebind the console key to a different key. To do this, open up the addon\config\gameprefs.ini file. (Note: Windows will, by default, hide the file extension and show this file as "gameprefs", not "gameprefs.ini" in Windows Explorer. This is a stupid decision on their part, and opens you up to dangerous actions. I'm going to mention the full, true filename in this document; if your Windows is still misconfigured, you're going to have to mentally subtract ".ini" from these filenames.) Open it up, and look for this section:
// What key (when used with the control key) is used to toggle the
// ingame console on/off. See the bottom of this file for what values
// are valid here; this is NOT an ascii code, but rather a DirectInput
// keyboard char. Made editable after so many non-US keyboards had
// issues with this key. For US keyboard, this default key is the one
// with ~ ` on it. For UK keyboards, this default key is the one with
// ` ¬ on it.
ToggleConsoleKey = 0x29
Also open up the localprefs.ini file, found in the same folder. Copy the last line of the above (ToggleConsoleKey = 0x29) to the bottom of localprefs.ini. Then scroll to the very bottom of Gameprefs.ini, and look at the list of possible keys, the entries that look like this:
// DIK_ESCAPE 0x01
// DIK_1 0x02
// DIK_2 0x03
// DIK_3 0x04
(Rest of list truncated). Find a key that you like, and is not in use in BZ2, and set the localprefs.ini entry to the 0x## value. Save the localprefs.ini, then start BZ2.
-- GSH

Post Reply