BZ2 model formats?

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

Mihail121
Scrap

BZ2 model formats?

Post by Mihail121 »

Hello, I'm new to the forums and a huge fan of BZ2. Being a software engineer I had the crazy idea some time ago to make sure certain favorite games of my survive in the world of modern technology, i.e. to make sure they are based on portable, stable systems. Some games I'm planning to deal with are Homeworld, Seven Kingdoms 2 and, of course, BattleZone 2 most of all as it is my favorite game of all time -- with great concept, great sound, great visuals etc. etc.

The cut the long story short, as I'm certain Activision will never hand over the code, I asked myself the question if the game could be reimplemented? Not to look better or something (I don't want to lose the classic gfx), but to use a stable and well-tested engine like Panda3D etc. where I can embed everything in an optimized scene graph. I know the game is quite complex, but I believe most of the complexity is concentrated in the mission scripting and the AI though I may be wrong. I am very sure though that any decent engine will handle the mechanics (graphics, sound, physics) easily. So I thought I would first ask where to get some information on the file formats used by the game. I also noticed the missions are stored as dynamic libraries so there should be some interface with the game that each mission should stick to. So my question is also how complex the game scripting system and the AI are? I don't really think everything would be portable 1:1, but perhaps a better modern game will come out :)

Once again, I just want to get an overview over the complexity, nothing else.. yet.
Red Devil
Recycler

Re: BZ2 model formats?

Post by Red Devil »

Ded10c
Recycler

Post by Ded10c »

You just put complexity and AI in the same sentence, didn't you?

That explains what Red Devil is doing here...[/url]
Mihail121
Scrap

Post by Mihail121 »