1.3.6.4w - OPEN BETA & TESTING

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

mase
Thunderbolt
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:17 am

Re: 1.3.6.4w - OPEN BETA & TESTING

Post by mase » Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:49 pm

The thing about slower ships: I noticed that too and it has something to do with the size of the hud/reticle, just seems slower when it is bigger.

User avatar
blue banana
Sabre
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:08 pm
Location: Banana Land, UTC−6:00 MDT
Contact:

Re: 1.3.6.4w - OPEN BETA & TESTING

Post by blue banana » Tue Oct 29, 2013 10:35 pm

It looks great! Played a game last night and it runs smoothly, no concerns! Thanks for all you do.

User avatar
Juggernaut
Thunderbolt
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:12 pm

Re: 1.3.6.4w - OPEN BETA & TESTING

Post by Juggernaut » Tue Oct 29, 2013 10:46 pm

Can you make the control smoothing be on by default? had to go in and tic it on. ill be hosting games tonight to try and test team strat and will report back.

Also, I notice the 1.2 style variants are still listed under map options (recycler types): commandos 1.2 style, wug etc. Thought these were removed?
Specs:
Win 10 Pro 64bit OS
i5 3570K @4.5Ghz CPU
16GB DDR31600 Corsair RAM
MSI Z77A-G41 MOBO
Crucial 256GB SSD | 500GB WD HDD
EVGA REF GTX-970 4GB ACX 2.1 GPU
27" LG D2743 Cinema 3D IPS LED @1920x1080 60Hz
ASUS Xonar DGX APU
Cable Internet - 35Mb/6Mb

User avatar
Nielk1
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2991
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: 1.3.6.4w - OPEN BETA & TESTING

Post by Nielk1 » Tue Oct 29, 2013 11:27 pm

Juggernaut wrote:Can you make the control smoothing be on by default? had to go in and tic it on. ill be hosting games tonight to try and test team strat and will report back.
As it is a change to the controls it should default to off until such point that it is eventually decided that everyone uses it so it should become default. At least, IMHO.

User avatar
GSH
Patch Creator
Posts: 2481
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:55 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: 1.3.6.4w - OPEN BETA & TESTING

Post by GSH » Wed Oct 30, 2013 12:12 am

Also, I notice the 1.2 style variants are still listed under map options (recycler types): commandos 1.2 style, wug etc. Thought these were removed?
Sub-build .zip files can't delete files on disk. They can only update/create files on disk. The next full build installer will do the delete.

-- GSH

User avatar
RotatorX
Sober Scav
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: 1.3.6.4w - OPEN BETA & TESTING

Post by RotatorX » Wed Oct 30, 2013 7:24 pm

Oh my, the radar in BZC is scaled quite a bit, and not in the good way..

Image
Battlezone Classic Tester

Feared_1
Sabre
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:25 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: 1.3.6.4w - OPEN BETA & TESTING

Post by Feared_1 » Wed Oct 30, 2013 7:46 pm

One thing I noticed - the reticle tends to "stick" to the top or bottom of the screen when you continue to try to look further upward or downward when the reticle is already as high or as low as it can go. It makes me feel like a COMPLETE IDIOT.

The effect is that if you look up or down beyond what is possible for the ship, you need to undo the y-axis movement with the mouse before you can control yourself again.

Recreate: Go into the game and start up an instant action. Move the ship's reticle to the top of the screen and stop it there. Now continue to move the mouse upwards for 3 "strokes" as if you are attempting to look further up. You are now "stuck" looking up. You need to move the mouse downwards for 3 "strokes" in order to get the reticle back to the screen.

Another example: Get into a turret and deploy it. While you are still in the deploy process, you can freely move the reticle up and down even though your ship doesn't move. The reticle will move up or down past the boundary of the screen, while in previous versions, it would stop at the top or bottom.

EDIT: A few more things. I just want to point out that the "monoculture" referenced in the changelog is actually non-existent, and the full techtree is VERY commonly used on a daily basis in strategy games if the game gets to that point. Sometimes, one team will win before it even gets to that point. It's not overpowered scouts that causes that, though; it's uneven teams. It would be the same thing if everyone in the strat started out in a Walker. Rocket Tanks, Bombers, Assault Tanks, even APCs and other things have been used in strats, and, if used correctly, they can be very effective. In late games with a Scion team, you will almost always see every single Scion vehicle used at some point.

Also, I just want to mention that the actions of one of the "vets" in the community do not speak for the entire "vet" community. One particular player who caused a massive spur of griefing in the past few months did not have the approval of the rest of us. An opportunity to apologize has been brought up in the past, but the fact of the matter is that those who actually do the griefing will probably never apologize, and those who would apologize have never griefed in the past.
This is where my signature picture would normally be. It is not, as you can see.
You're wasting your time reading this. :)

User avatar
Ultraken
Patch Creator
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: 1.3.6.4w - OPEN BETA & TESTING

Post by Ultraken » Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:09 pm

Feared_1 wrote:One thing I noticed - the reticle tends to "stick" to the top or bottom of the screen when you continue to try to look further upward or downward when the reticle is already as high or as low as it can go. It makes me feel like a COMPLETE IDIOT.
That's been fixed in subsequent builds.

User avatar
RotatorX
Sober Scav
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: 1.3.6.4w - OPEN BETA & TESTING

Post by RotatorX » Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:17 am

Mouse smoothing doesn't seem to be like BZ1's smoothing.. The vertical pitch acceleration is wayyy too high, and there's no way to turn it down.
Battlezone Classic Tester

White Diver
Sober Scav
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 6:17 pm

Re: 1.3.6.4w - OPEN BETA & TESTING

Post by White Diver » Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:05 am

How to scale the minimap and cockpit radar now? The Play_CockpitRadarXXX and Play_MapRadarXXX do not work anymore in LocalPrefs.ini. Can it be done independently of the UI upscale factor (the feature is great, I have been awaiting for it for a long time)?
Last edited by White Diver on Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

RusR1
Scrap
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:54 am

Re: 1.3.6.4w - OPEN BETA & TESTING

Post by RusR1 » Thu Oct 31, 2013 9:03 am

hey GSH! patch have big problem. 1-mouse stuck, if you up or down him!
2-pilots don't jump in empty turret or scout! but tnx for patch:) plz do some short fix!
tnx!

User avatar
GSH
Patch Creator
Posts: 2481
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:55 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: 1.3.6.4w - OPEN BETA & TESTING

Post by GSH » Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:51 pm

How to scale the minimap and cockpit radar now? The Play_CockpitRadarXXX and Play_MapRadarXXX do not work anymore in LocalPrefs.ini. Can it be done independently of the UI upscale factor (the feature is great, I have been awaiting for it for a long time)?
As noted in the changelog, *prefs.ini no longer does this. What you should be doing is looking at the Cmd("...") items at the bottom of addon\config\game\bzgame_init*.cfg -- look in sub-folders for the upscaled bzgame_init items. Make your edits to those files, that won't cause bad assets.

-- GSH

User avatar
Vassili
Thunderbolt
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:09 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 1.3.6.4w - OPEN BETA & TESTING

Post by Vassili » Fri Nov 01, 2013 3:22 pm

1-MrTwosheds: it's normal you had out of my game on sub-zero, and can't joi nagain, because my ISP had **** me, i loose my connection, and 2 minutesafter,when my ISPbox was conencted, they dont had give me an internet connection before ~30 minutes.

2-I confirm the bug of mouse up/down, if i will do looping for enjoythe physics you repaired, i'm stuck with cursor at top or down, i will try the solution of Feared_1.

3-I had see UHOH messages in a game i don't had host. You say it's for trace bugs of sounds but i don't hadsee them in games i host, so the bugs appear only o ncertain games or configurations?

4-When i will screenshot (for note the insults/ip/nickname of a unknow guy who enter and say i'm a fooker/feuker/fucker: Suffering_Clown 71.201.100.96 at yoder in Wyoming), look how my screenshot looks: Image (i put the full screenshot for if you think dualscreen with **** GC (AMD) don't work good with 1.3.6.4w).

User avatar
Nielk1
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2991
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: 1.3.6.4w - OPEN BETA & TESTING

Post by Nielk1 » Fri Nov 01, 2013 4:29 pm

Vassili wrote:4-When i will screenshot (for note the insults/ip/nickname of a unknow guy who enter and say i'm a fooker/feuker/****: Suffering_Clown 71.201.100.96 at yoder in Wyoming), look how my screenshot looks: <snip> (i put the full screenshot for if you think dualscreen with **** GC (AMD) don't work good with 1.3.6.4w).
That reminds me of the recent bug for Battlefield 4 with nVidia drivers, only it wasn't just screenshots.
That weird screenshot might have something to do with your graphics drivers and the fact you had to take a screenshot through your desktop. Try ctrl+G in single-player (doesn't work in MP) and see if the colors are all messed up. For MP, try using a screenshot utility like the feature in FRAPS.

User avatar
Vassili
Thunderbolt
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:09 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 1.3.6.4w - OPEN BETA & TESTING

Post by Vassili » Fri Nov 01, 2013 6:46 pm

When reading your post, i'm thinking i will try to screen solo and MP with fullscreenshot and just the game (i don't had understand your "through your desktop", when i takea screenshot, i take a screenshot, i just press a key, i don't selct my desktop for screen it).
So i click on BZ2 shortcut and... i confirm my GC really dont like this new patch.
3 times in a day the game crash (2 times for alt-tab return to game and one at launch).
My GC do that often with a lot of recent games, but with BZ2 it's normaly not so much.

Post Reply