Disabling Sniper Rifle

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

Post Reply
GreenGuy
Rattler
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:14 pm

Disabling Sniper Rifle

Post by GreenGuy » Tue Jan 14, 2014 9:03 am

Something that can really ruin the whole game experience for me is when someone gets a lucky snipe and turns whole game around. It's fine in 5v5 or 4v4 but in 1v1 it can really ruin the fun.

It'd be nice if there was a feature that allowed toggling between enabling sniper or not. Can this be done?

User avatar
vlad_C0M
Rattler
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:25 am

Re: Disabling Sniper Rifle

Post by vlad_C0M » Tue Jan 14, 2014 11:13 am

Yes, ZeroAngel can enable\disable this function by .odf editing method. (and create button for it)
Scion dream ۩

User avatar
Red Spot
Attila
Posts: 1629
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:14 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Disabling Sniper Rifle

Post by Red Spot » Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:02 pm

ZA may be able to do so in VSR, and he may be able to send those assets in, but he can not make the change for a vanilla game where it benefits everybody including those who do not play VSR.
It 'may' also be best to make this type of edit from the dll instead of using 'magic odfs'.

User avatar
Zero Angel
Attila
Posts: 1536
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Disabling Sniper Rifle

Post by Zero Angel » Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:24 pm

What he is saying is that it can be done through modding.

And yes it should be possible to do via DLL too. For example have player start as isuser_m (sniperless pilot), or make all ships unsnipable, etc. I'd try to get the feature added in VSR if it was requested by multiple people.

Also, tried changing sniper rifle to try and balance out sniping in an earlier VSR release (reducing the 'snipe' radius by 20%, increasing cooldown from 1s -> 3s, and reducing ammo cost by 30%) but it was an unpopular change that I kind of forced on everyone, so I reverted it.
Regulators
Regulate any stealin' of this biometal pool, we're damn good, too
But you can't be any geek off the street
Gotta be handy with the chains if you know what I mean
Earn your keep

User avatar
MrTwosheds
Recycler
Posts: 3059
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 am
Location: Outer Space
Contact:

Re: Disabling Sniper Rifle

Post by MrTwosheds » Tue Jan 14, 2014 6:53 pm

Might actually be better done in stock, by adding a no sniper option along with respawn with sniper. You would still be able to get one from the armory though. An interesting idea given the way gameplay has evolved to Hi res and super fast connection technology.
The Silence continues. The War Of Lies has no end.

User avatar
Zero Angel
Attila
Posts: 1536
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Disabling Sniper Rifle

Post by Zero Angel » Tue Jan 14, 2014 7:52 pm

Yeah. I can agree that it wouldnt be a bad option to have.
Regulators
Regulate any stealin' of this biometal pool, we're damn good, too
But you can't be any geek off the street
Gotta be handy with the chains if you know what I mean
Earn your keep

User avatar
DarkCobra262
Sabre
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabling Sniper Rifle

Post by DarkCobra262 » Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:35 pm

I had thought this was already done..
Modding/Modelling like a noob...

User avatar
Zero Angel
Attila
Posts: 1536
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: Disabling Sniper Rifle

Post by Zero Angel » Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:47 pm

DarkCobra262 wrote:I had thought this was already done..
Maybe you're thinking of 'respawn with sniper'. That one doesnt affect whether the player starts with a sniper rifle -- only if they respawn with one.
Regulators
Regulate any stealin' of this biometal pool, we're damn good, too
But you can't be any geek off the street
Gotta be handy with the chains if you know what I mean
Earn your keep

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Disabling Sniper Rifle

Post by General BlackDragon » Tue Jan 14, 2014 11:56 pm

BZC's sniper on/off option works like this, it's a straight on/off option
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

User avatar
DarkCobra262
Sabre
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabling Sniper Rifle

Post by DarkCobra262 » Wed Jan 15, 2014 11:20 pm

Zero Angel wrote:
DarkCobra262 wrote:I had thought this was already done..
Maybe you're thinking of 'respawn with sniper'. That one doesnt affect whether the player starts with a sniper rifle -- only if they respawn with one.
Likely, but I could have sworn I said something that enabled/disabled snipers and was separate from the respawn with... guess not :P
Modding/Modelling like a noob...

Post Reply