BZ2 1.3.6.5 on Mac

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: BZ2 1.3.6.5 on Mac

Post by Commando » Thu Jun 12, 2014 4:32 pm

The content of my VSR shortcut on my linux mint HDD. Just reverted to Wine1.6 and bz2 works properly again. I had to reinstall the Nvidia drivers as running any updates break them.

[Desktop Entry]
Name=VSR Beta 4.4 Prerelease 2a
Exec=env WINEPREFIX="/home/commando/.wine" wine C:\\\\Battlezone\\ II\\ 1.3\\\\bzone.exe /nointro /config vsr-testing.cfg
Type=Application
StartupNotify=true
Path=/home/commando/.wine/dosdevices/c:/Battlezone II 1.3
Icon=45A7_bzone.0

User avatar
Oberon1995
Scrap
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:47 pm

Re: BZ2 1.3.6.5 on Mac

Post by Oberon1995 » Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:56 pm

That worked! I just hadn't thought to edit it that way.
Oberon

User avatar
RotatorX
Sober Scav
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: BZ2 1.3.6.5 on Mac

Post by RotatorX » Fri Jul 18, 2014 2:06 am

Hey I'm having the same issue with the FPU error message, but I still can't get it to work. Can anyone make a guide to fix this issue?
Battlezone Classic Tester

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: BZ2 1.3.6.5 on Mac

Post by Commando » Fri Jul 18, 2014 3:00 am

I've already written one for Linux Mint + Wine 1.6 as bz2's shell is badly bugged in Wine 1.7. Bz2 loads in 1.7, the the shell is unresponsive to the point of being unusable.

As far as I know, the process should be fairly similar in Mac OS as you need to configure and install Wine 1.6 on both. I've written a guide, but don't have the storage to upload it to.

User avatar
Zero Angel
Attila
Posts: 1536
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: BZ2 1.3.6.5 on Mac

Post by Zero Angel » Fri Jul 18, 2014 4:54 am

FYI: Even versions of Wine (like 1.4, 1.6, etc) are part of the stable branch. Odd versions (e.g. 1.5, 1.7) are part of the unstable branch. The odd versions as a whole are inferior to, but necessary for, the stable versions.

I'd only use an unstable version if I thought it could fix a compatibility issue with a game or something.
Regulators
Regulate any stealin' of this biometal pool, we're damn good, too
But you can't be any geek off the street
Gotta be handy with the chains if you know what I mean
Earn your keep

User avatar
RotatorX
Sober Scav
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: BZ2 1.3.6.5 on Mac

Post by RotatorX » Fri Jul 18, 2014 7:11 pm

Commando wrote:I've already written one for Linux Mint + Wine 1.6 as bz2's shell is badly bugged in Wine 1.7. Bz2 loads in 1.7, the the shell is unresponsive to the point of being unusable.

As far as I know, the process should be fairly similar in Mac OS as you need to configure and install Wine 1.6 on both. I've written a guide, but don't have the storage to upload it to.
err, could you upload it somewhere? Like dropbox or something?


I actually got the game to work, but only in tiny window mode. Changing the res doesn't expand the window, and fullscreen doesn't work because I get a white screen after the intro movies.
Battlezone Classic Tester

User avatar
Zero Angel
Attila
Posts: 1536
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: BZ2 1.3.6.5 on Mac

Post by Zero Angel » Fri Jul 18, 2014 8:16 pm

Edit your BZ2 shortcut and add something like this to the end of it: /win -resolution 1600 900
Regulators
Regulate any stealin' of this biometal pool, we're damn good, too
But you can't be any geek off the street
Gotta be handy with the chains if you know what I mean
Earn your keep

User avatar
GSH
Patch Creator
Posts: 2481
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:55 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: BZ2 1.3.6.5 on Mac

Post by GSH » Fri Jul 18, 2014 9:53 pm

The readme13.rtf file installed along with 1.3.x patches documents these and many other handy commandline options. That file is also available on the master BZ2 patch download site, in both .rtf and .pdf form. I picked file formats that are deliberately quite readable on a huge variety of platforms with no additional downloads.

-- GSH

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: BZ2 1.3.6.5 on Mac

Post by Commando » Fri Jul 18, 2014 11:31 pm

Are you using Wine? If so, are you using version 1.6 or 1.7?

User avatar
RotatorX
Sober Scav
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: BZ2 1.3.6.5 on Mac

Post by RotatorX » Sat Jul 19, 2014 3:06 am

Ayy, thanks for the tips, guys.

Anywho,

I'm using Crossover on a Macbook Pro 13" with the OS X 10.9. I created a .bat file that launches Battlezone using the BZClassic .cfg file. Instead of running in window mode, I added the /nointro parameter, which appears to have fixed the white screen issue.

Getting the two .dlls to work was a bit tricky. I downloaded them from the internet, and dropped them into the C://Windows/system/ folder in my wine bottle. (Wine bottle is using WinXP API)

I then had to add a pointer to the libraries in the wine configuration itself for Bzone.exe and BZ2Edit.exe. And whaddya know, **** works.
Battlezone Classic Tester

User avatar
RotatorX
Sober Scav
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: BZ2 1.3.6.5 on Mac

Post by RotatorX » Sun Jul 20, 2014 3:26 am

If I may ask, what settings did you use for wine skins?
Battlezone Classic Tester

User avatar
Zero Angel
Attila
Posts: 1536
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:54 am
Contact:

Re: BZ2 1.3.6.5 on Mac

Post by Zero Angel » Sun Jul 20, 2014 3:38 pm

I use a skin called Human because it sort of matches the window manager theme I use
http://imgur.com/8fMSY9r
Regulators
Regulate any stealin' of this biometal pool, we're damn good, too
But you can't be any geek off the street
Gotta be handy with the chains if you know what I mean
Earn your keep

User avatar
RotatorX
Sober Scav
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: BZ2 1.3.6.5 on Mac

Post by RotatorX » Sun Jul 20, 2014 6:16 pm

Zero Angel wrote:I use a skin called Human because it sort of matches the window manager theme I use
http://imgur.com/8fMSY9r
haha, that's not quite what I meant. What settings did you use for the wrapper?
Battlezone Classic Tester

User avatar
blue banana
Sabre
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:08 pm
Location: Banana Land, UTC−6:00 MDT
Contact:

Re: BZ2 1.3.6.5 on Mac

Post by blue banana » Sun Jul 20, 2014 7:24 pm

For future reference, you might need to install the Indeo codec in order to get away from the black screens.

User avatar
GSH
Patch Creator
Posts: 2481
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:55 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: BZ2 1.3.6.5 on Mac

Post by GSH » Sun Jul 20, 2014 8:02 pm

BZ2 uses the bink player, no other codes needed. That DLL is provided along with the 1.3.6.5 distribution, look in the AppDLLs folder.

-- GSH

Post Reply