raknet down again?

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

User avatar
Juggernaut
Thunderbolt
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:12 pm

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Juggernaut » Fri Jan 02, 2015 5:56 pm

Yeah and I successfully tested Gameranger using TnTs mod selector to play VSR, it worked! My prior tests had clients try to join, supposedly using the mod selector tool but obviously did something wrong on their end.
Specs:
Win 10 Pro 64bit OS
i5 3570K @4.5Ghz CPU
16GB DDR31600 Corsair RAM
MSI Z77A-G41 MOBO
Crucial 256GB SSD | 500GB WD HDD
EVGA REF GTX-970 4GB ACX 2.1 GPU
27" LG D2743 Cinema 3D IPS LED @1920x1080 60Hz
ASUS Xonar DGX APU
Cable Internet - 35Mb/6Mb

Michael
Sober Scav
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:41 am

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Michael » Mon Jan 05, 2015 3:26 am

What about Hamachi VPN and we all use connect through LAN? I don't know much about it the new version, but my brothers and I used to use it for private games a few years back and it worked fine. Only problem is that everyone would have to d/l it and have access to each others computers. Maybe it is not the most safe method.

User avatar
Ded10c
Recycler
Posts: 3815
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:05 am
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Contact:

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Ded10c » Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:20 pm

Hamachi was good if you only needed a few players, but with larger groups it gets less workable. That registration is now required is also a bit of a pain.
battlezone.wikia.com needs your help!

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Commando » Mon Jan 05, 2015 8:30 pm

I wonder how reliable a stand alone VPN would be. I have a SonicWall I could set up as an experiment.

Michael
Sober Scav
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:41 am

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Michael » Wed Jan 07, 2015 2:53 am

If you have the time, I guess it could not hurt to try. If MP is unavailable in BZ2 it is literally dead. If you think about it this game is about 15 years old. Just that it has survived this long is a testament to the creators and the game. For it to fall dead because of a lack of MP functionality because of external issues is truly sad.

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Commando » Wed Jan 07, 2015 3:22 am

Yeah, I'm starting to suspect raknet was just the final nail in the coffin. Over the last two years, I've been able to do my job as a tester maybe 10 times, and that is a generous estimate. It is probably closer to 5. Noone on the testing team cares to contribute, as it appears, and I've pretty much given up personally as a result.

It's the main reason I don't touch this game anymore. I haven't really touched any of the recycler variants in years, as I don't see a point.

User avatar
Red Devil
Recycler
Posts: 4398
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 5:10 pm
Location: High in the Rocky Mountains

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Red Devil » Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:33 am

Like Oddball says, sometimes you just have to have a little faith:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-IatwoA00E0

and "stop with the neg-a-tive waves!"

:D
If given the truth, the people can be depended upon to meet any national crisis. The great point is to bring them the real facts - and beer.
Abraham Lincoln

Battlestrat, FE, G66, In The Shadows, Starfleet, Uler, & ZTV

Lifetime member of JBS and NRA

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: raknet down again?

Post by General BlackDragon » Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:17 am

I'm always up for a test game, if I know there's one up.
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

User avatar
MrTwosheds
Recycler
Posts: 3059
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 am
Location: Outer Space
Contact:

Re: raknet down again?

Post by MrTwosheds » Wed Jan 07, 2015 6:58 pm

Yeah, I'm starting to suspect raknet was just the final nail in the coffin. Over the last two years, I've been able to do my job as a tester maybe 10 times, and that is a generous estimate. It is probably closer to 5. Noone on the testing team cares to contribute, as it appears, and I've pretty much given up personally as a result.
Organizing testing has been a problem for a long time, mostly it is due to simply not having the critical mass of people willing and capable of making it work. Public Beta experiments failed utterly. And lets face it a sizable proportion of the community is still having its attitude to the project and its contributors deliberately poisoned.
I think the real final nail was failing to get the game into a legally downloadable position, without fresh blood coming in, it was always going to be a downhill journey.
The Silence continues. The War Of Lies has no end.

Michael
Sober Scav
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:41 am

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Michael » Sun Jan 11, 2015 1:33 am

I am always willing to play, but I don't have any time until maybe 9pm EST. I started this the first year it came out while I was in college. Then after, I used to play a ton before I got married two years ago, now that i am in my mid 30's I really don't have much time to play. I am sad about that because this game was such a big part of my life (maybe that in itself is sad, haha). But I am up for a game anytime someone wants to host.

Michael
Sober Scav
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:41 am

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Michael » Sun Jan 11, 2015 1:36 am

So I am confused. On raknet's site, it says it is open source now. Doesn't that mean we can just find a physical server to host the raknet engine?

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Commando » Sun Jan 11, 2015 3:23 am

I don't believe the server is open-sourced.

User avatar
AI_Unit
Thunderbolt
Posts: 186
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 11:53 pm
Location: Mire, negotiating with Scions.
Contact:

Re: raknet down again?

Post by AI_Unit » Sat Jan 17, 2015 7:06 pm

I'm assuming there's going to be a solution to this problem?
Current Mod: AI's Expansion Pack

AI_Unit was here.

User avatar
Ded10c
Recycler
Posts: 3815
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:05 am
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Contact:

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Ded10c » Sat Jan 17, 2015 7:45 pm

There are at least two community developers working on reverse-engineering BZ2's networking system and comparing it to the RakNET source to create a replacement. According to the PM I received a few minutes ago, one of them may be on the verge of succeeding.
battlezone.wikia.com needs your help!

User avatar
Juggernaut
Thunderbolt
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:12 pm

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Juggernaut » Sun Jan 18, 2015 3:06 am

Confirmed to work (workaround script hosted by Kebbz at: gamelist.kebbz.com)
It's now working!
Quick version of instructions:
Open @BZ2ROOT/addon/config/localprefs.ini and add the line under [UserPrefs]:
MasterServerAddress="gamelist.kebbz.com"
http://bz2maps.us/phpBB/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=4829

Thank you Kebbz and Vearie
Specs:
Win 10 Pro 64bit OS
i5 3570K @4.5Ghz CPU
16GB DDR31600 Corsair RAM
MSI Z77A-G41 MOBO
Crucial 256GB SSD | 500GB WD HDD
EVGA REF GTX-970 4GB ACX 2.1 GPU
27" LG D2743 Cinema 3D IPS LED @1920x1080 60Hz
ASUS Xonar DGX APU
Cable Internet - 35Mb/6Mb

Post Reply