raknet down again?

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Commando » Wed Sep 24, 2014 6:25 pm

Raknet going down has been a concern of minen from day 1. We relied on GaySpy, which was a closed platform. Look how that ended up. Then we went to Raknet which was also closed. The possibility of it possibly going down has been on the back of my mind for a while which is why I asked about reverse engineering raknet multiple times.

User avatar
MrTwosheds
Recycler
Posts: 3059
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 am
Location: Outer Space
Contact:

Re: raknet down again?

Post by MrTwosheds » Wed Sep 24, 2014 6:51 pm

They guy who runs or ran the matchmaking server is suggesting that we use a different solution. It would be foolish to ignore him considering how long a development might take.
The Silence continues. The War Of Lies has no end.

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Commando » Wed Sep 24, 2014 7:26 pm

If the source code for the masterserver2 were available, I could run the server from a box that I host.

For longetivity reasons, an opened solution would be best, granted I feel the issue is moot.

User avatar
Red Devil
Recycler
Posts: 4398
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 5:10 pm
Location: High in the Rocky Mountains

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Red Devil » Thu Sep 25, 2014 12:09 am

agreed, agreed, and agreed, except i'm thinking it should run on multiple pc's with a prioritized list in gameprefs to avoid the single point of failure situation.
If given the truth, the people can be depended upon to meet any national crisis. The great point is to bring them the real facts - and beer.
Abraham Lincoln

Battlestrat, FE, G66, In The Shadows, Starfleet, Uler, & ZTV

Lifetime member of JBS and NRA

User avatar
MrTwosheds
Recycler
Posts: 3059
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 am
Location: Outer Space
Contact:

Re: raknet down again?

Post by MrTwosheds » Thu Sep 25, 2014 1:35 am

It might lead to multiple point success problems though. :)
The Silence continues. The War Of Lies has no end.

User avatar
Nielk1
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2991
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Nielk1 » Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:18 pm

At this point I am thinking I'm going to just have to reverse engineer it.

User avatar
Juggernaut
Thunderbolt
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:12 pm

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Juggernaut » Thu Oct 16, 2014 3:24 pm

*EDIT: It's back up, may have been down for maintenance. Hope I don't come across as an alarmist. ;)

Raknet appears to be down again this morning (was up last night)

But this time, we do not get a reply ping from masterserver2.raknet.com (although it does resolve to the correct IP address: 66.118.161.138)

Just wanted to give you all a heads up.
Specs:
Win 10 Pro 64bit OS
i5 3570K @4.5Ghz CPU
16GB DDR31600 Corsair RAM
MSI Z77A-G41 MOBO
Crucial 256GB SSD | 500GB WD HDD
EVGA REF GTX-970 4GB ACX 2.1 GPU
27" LG D2743 Cinema 3D IPS LED @1920x1080 60Hz
ASUS Xonar DGX APU
Cable Internet - 35Mb/6Mb

User avatar
Sabre Tank
Thunderbolt
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:37 am
Location: Georgia

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Sabre Tank » Wed Oct 22, 2014 2:01 pm

Seems to be down again... or maybe it's just on my end?

User avatar
Red Devil
Recycler
Posts: 4398
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 5:10 pm
Location: High in the Rocky Mountains

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Red Devil » Wed Oct 22, 2014 4:44 pm

works on my end.
If given the truth, the people can be depended upon to meet any national crisis. The great point is to bring them the real facts - and beer.
Abraham Lincoln

Battlestrat, FE, G66, In The Shadows, Starfleet, Uler, & ZTV

Lifetime member of JBS and NRA

User avatar
Juggernaut
Thunderbolt
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:12 pm

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Juggernaut » Tue Nov 25, 2014 1:22 am

Seems to be down again (masterserver2.raknet.com replys on ping, but matchmaking is down - same as before). It's been down all day. :(
I'm not sure if one of you want to try contacting them this time? I fear our support requests will soon be under wraps.

I am presuming the same fix is needed:
Kevin Jenkins <rakkar@jenkinssoftware.com>
11:24 PM (3 hours ago)

to me, support
It looks like the server ran out of memory and would just shut itself
down everytime I restarted it. I had to delete all old data to get the
server working again.

Since I sold the company I recommend transitioning to Parse. It can do
much the same thing as masterserver2, and I think is free under a
threshhold
https://parse.com/
Specs:
Win 10 Pro 64bit OS
i5 3570K @4.5Ghz CPU
16GB DDR31600 Corsair RAM
MSI Z77A-G41 MOBO
Crucial 256GB SSD | 500GB WD HDD
EVGA REF GTX-970 4GB ACX 2.1 GPU
27" LG D2743 Cinema 3D IPS LED @1920x1080 60Hz
ASUS Xonar DGX APU
Cable Internet - 35Mb/6Mb

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Commando » Tue Nov 25, 2014 6:42 am

Doubt that will ever happen. People dont even help test the current changes.

User avatar
Juggernaut
Thunderbolt
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:12 pm

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Juggernaut » Tue Nov 25, 2014 3:26 pm

No doubts! I sent a support email myself this morning, indicating what was done before to fix it. I can help test changes, but we all live in different time zone which makes it near impossible unless we learn how to better coordinate.

Apparently, our raknet server seems like it has a serious memory leak, and may expect more of the same every couple of months or so.

"It looks like the server ran out of memory and would just shut itself
down everytime I restarted it. I had to delete all old data to get the
server working again."
Specs:
Win 10 Pro 64bit OS
i5 3570K @4.5Ghz CPU
16GB DDR31600 Corsair RAM
MSI Z77A-G41 MOBO
Crucial 256GB SSD | 500GB WD HDD
EVGA REF GTX-970 4GB ACX 2.1 GPU
27" LG D2743 Cinema 3D IPS LED @1920x1080 60Hz
ASUS Xonar DGX APU
Cable Internet - 35Mb/6Mb

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Commando » Tue Nov 25, 2014 4:00 pm

Some source code has bern released. Has the owner been asked if the source for masterserver2 is available?

User avatar
Juggernaut
Thunderbolt
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:12 pm

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Juggernaut » Thu Nov 27, 2014 12:56 am

I should have asked about the source code, but I did not. :( Still haven't heard back from my support request, but it is a holiday week after all.
Specs:
Win 10 Pro 64bit OS
i5 3570K @4.5Ghz CPU
16GB DDR31600 Corsair RAM
MSI Z77A-G41 MOBO
Crucial 256GB SSD | 500GB WD HDD
EVGA REF GTX-970 4GB ACX 2.1 GPU
27" LG D2743 Cinema 3D IPS LED @1920x1080 60Hz
ASUS Xonar DGX APU
Cable Internet - 35Mb/6Mb

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: raknet down again?

Post by Commando » Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:24 am

I'm going to go out on a limb and assume it is not coming back up.

Post Reply