Battlezone II v1.3.7a130 Public Alpha released

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

User avatar
GSH
Patch Creator
Posts: 2481
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:55 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Battlezone II v1.3.7a130 Public Alpha released

Post by GSH » Sat Nov 14, 2015 2:51 pm

Ladies and gentlemen, we are pleased to announce that the Battlezone 2 patch version 1.3.7.0a130 Public Beta has been released. You can download it from here:
- Installer
- DLL Source (for modders only)
- Mod data (source assets (.xsi, etc) for modders only)

Major features of v1.3.7.0a130 Public Alpha:
- Wrote a RakNet master server replacement in Google Go with a SQL backend. This is hosted on my own server
- Implemented light-weight multithreading where it seemed safe to do so; this and SSE2 optimizations should now provide a smoother framerate ingame
- FOV is adjustable in the menus (about time!)
- Work to make 1-shot weapons (e.g. laser) in MP more visible to remote players
- Fonts should look cleaner at larger resolutions (>= 960x720), and up to a 5x resolution scale is possible
- Various other fixes and optimizations.

Compatability notes
As Windows XP is no longer supported by Microsoft and their compiler teams, 1.3.7.0 (and up) now requires Windows Vista/7/8.x/10 (or newer). Some people have noted success with Linux+WINE for systems that had XP. Additionally, a CPU supporting SSE2 is now required.

Legal disclaimer
This Battlezone II Combat Commander 1.3 patch comes with no warranty, to the extent permitted by applicable law. Except when otherwise stated in writing the copyright holders and/or other parties provide the package "as is" without warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including, but not limited to, the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose and the accuracy of the information contained within it. The entire risk as to the quality and performance of the package is with you.

According to the publisher, the last officially supported patch is the 1.1 patch.

Edit by squirrelof09: fixed version typo that has been bugging me for a couple of days!

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7a130 Public Alpha released

Post by General BlackDragon » Sat Nov 14, 2015 3:34 pm

GSH wrote:1.3.6.5
Copy Pasta is the best kind of pasta. :D
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

User avatar
Juggernaut
Thunderbolt
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:12 pm

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7a130 Public Alpha released

Post by Juggernaut » Sat Nov 14, 2015 4:53 pm

Thanks for all your hard work GSH!! Greatly appreciated, sharing the love soon with others via bz2maps.us

Also, you may want to edit your post to display the correct version and update your lobby server message.

thanks again!
Last edited by Juggernaut on Sat Nov 14, 2015 5:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Specs:
Win 10 Pro 64bit OS
i5 3570K @4.5Ghz CPU
16GB DDR31600 Corsair RAM
MSI Z77A-G41 MOBO
Crucial 256GB SSD | 500GB WD HDD
EVGA REF GTX-970 4GB ACX 2.1 GPU
27" LG D2743 Cinema 3D IPS LED @1920x1080 60Hz
ASUS Xonar DGX APU
Cable Internet - 35Mb/6Mb

User avatar
coxxon
Sabre
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:57 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7a130 Public Alpha released

Post by coxxon » Sat Nov 14, 2015 4:54 pm

squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee ...:) :)

User avatar
Juggernaut
Thunderbolt
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:12 pm

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7a130 Public Alpha released

Post by Juggernaut » Sat Nov 14, 2015 7:55 pm

Seems to be a a compatibility issue installing 1.3.7 alpha onto XP machines:
"supp": so it aint working on old systems, like win xp systems that i have
<14:50:42> "Juggernaut": oh really?
<14:50:54> "Juggernaut": error? av?
<14:51:54> "supp": error, it aint a valid win32 application
<14:52:29> "Juggernaut": does that come up upon running the patch?
<14:52:44> "Juggernaut": or after you install and try to run bz2?
<14:53:27> "supp": while trying to run *_a120.exe, installer isnt starting
Specs:
Win 10 Pro 64bit OS
i5 3570K @4.5Ghz CPU
16GB DDR31600 Corsair RAM
MSI Z77A-G41 MOBO
Crucial 256GB SSD | 500GB WD HDD
EVGA REF GTX-970 4GB ACX 2.1 GPU
27" LG D2743 Cinema 3D IPS LED @1920x1080 60Hz
ASUS Xonar DGX APU
Cable Internet - 35Mb/6Mb

User avatar
GSH
Patch Creator
Posts: 2481
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:55 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7a130 Public Alpha released

Post by GSH » Sat Nov 14, 2015 8:29 pm

The readme says that Vista and up are now required. I'll update the first post above.

For those still on XP, 1) please don't connect to the internet anymore, 2) Try Linux + WINE to use your hardware online in a more secure manner.

-- GSH

Commando
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7a130 Public Alpha released

Post by Commando » Sat Nov 14, 2015 9:35 pm

I think za indicated performance dropped drastically when dotnet 2013 was added. He went wail after that so there is no telling.

User avatar
Juggernaut
Thunderbolt
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:12 pm

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7a130 Public Alpha released

Post by Juggernaut » Sat Nov 14, 2015 10:08 pm

a shame though, many who play BZ2 still use XP unfortunately.
Specs:
Win 10 Pro 64bit OS
i5 3570K @4.5Ghz CPU
16GB DDR31600 Corsair RAM
MSI Z77A-G41 MOBO
Crucial 256GB SSD | 500GB WD HDD
EVGA REF GTX-970 4GB ACX 2.1 GPU
27" LG D2743 Cinema 3D IPS LED @1920x1080 60Hz
ASUS Xonar DGX APU
Cable Internet - 35Mb/6Mb

User avatar
Ded10c
Recycler
Posts: 3815
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:05 am
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7a130 Public Alpha released

Post by Ded10c » Sat Nov 14, 2015 10:25 pm

They should probably update. It is unreasonable to expect GSH to cater to older, unsupported and unsecured systems, particularly if doing so could hold back advancement and impede compatibility with up-do-date systems. Support for Windows 98 through 2000 went for the same reason.

I can pick up a copy of Windows 7 for about £30.
battlezone.wikia.com needs your help!

User avatar
Vadam
Thunderbolt
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 3:02 pm

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7a130 Public Alpha released

Post by Vadam » Sat Nov 14, 2015 10:48 pm

Is there a way to permanently zoom out with the 3rd person camera? It seems to be alot more zoomed in by default now, and using - and + only temporarily solves this.
Starfleet 0.8 - Almost done!

User avatar
Juggernaut
Thunderbolt
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:12 pm

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7a130 Public Alpha released

Post by Juggernaut » Sun Nov 15, 2015 12:15 am

I second what Vadam stated. Default 3rd person view is zoomed in too much (can only see the nose of the ship), until you zoom out a bit.

Also, I got a hard freeze 10+ min into an MPI game, where even End Task would not work. Had to force shutdown with power button and did not get the AV prompt window.

Logs contain:
ERR | log:1373 |18:55:41|722021 |abort() requested from 'dlmalloc.cpp':4738
DIAG| vid:1380 |18:57:45|5237 |Trycount 158, device lost = 1 1
DIAG| DXUT:5458 |18:57:45|5239 | AttemptAcquire device = 0x00000000, lost = 1, paused = 0
DIAG| DXUT:2097 |18:57:45|5239 | DXUT pause on change device
DIAG| DXUT:2314 |18:57:45|5241 | DXUT unpause on change device failure 0x80040905
DIAG| vid:1391 |18:57:45|5247 |Attempted acquire & render, lost = 1 1
DIAG| vid:1380 |18:57:45|5247 |Trycount 159, device lost = 1 1
DIAG| DXUT:5458 |18:57:45|5249 | AttemptAcquire device = 0x00000000, lost = 1, paused = 0
DIAG| DXUT:2097 |18:57:45|5249 | DXUT pause on change device
DIAG| DXUT:2314 |18:57:45|5251 | DXUT unpause on change device failure 0x80040905
DIAG| vid:1391 |18:57:45|5251 |Attempted acquire & render, lost = 1 1
ERR | vid:1419 |18:57:45|5251 |Unrecoverable DirectX error. Please ensure you have the latest DirectX drivers for your graphics card downloaded from the maker's website.
DIAG| DXUT:2097 |18:57:45|5251 | DXUT pause on change device
DIAG| DXUT:2314 |18:57:45|5254 | DXUT unpause on change device failure 0x80040905
DIAG| DXUT:2097 |18:57:45|5254 | DXUT pause on change device
DIAG| DXUT:2314 |18:57:45|5258 | DXUT unpause on change device failure 0x80040905
DIAG| maininit:487 |18:57:45|5258 |QUIT requested
DIAG| DXUT:2097 |18:57:45|5328 | DXUT pause on change device
DIAG| DXUT:2314 |18:57:45|5336 | DXUT unpause on change device failure 0x80040905
DIAG| DXUT:2097 |18:57:45|5336 | DXUT pause on change device
DIAG| DXUT:2314 |18:57:45|5337 | DXUT unpause on change device failure 0x80040905
ERR | log:1373 |18:57:45|5362 |abort() requested from 'vid.cpp':1421
ERR | ExceptionHandler:193 |18:57:45|5425 |00B442DC +001F42DC 000000B6 bzone (bzone): : StackWalker::ShowCallstack

ERR | ExceptionHandler:193 |18:57:45|5445 |00BAF6ED +0025F6ED 0000009B bzone (bzone): : BZ2Abort

ERR | ExceptionHandler:193 |18:57:45|5470 |00B62380 +00212380 000005C9 bzone (bzone): : Vid::SetMode

ERR | ExceptionHandler:193 |18:57:45|5495 |00B64779 +00214779 00000011 bzone (bzone): : Vid::SetShellMode

ERR | ExceptionHandler:193 |18:57:45|5521 |00B6270B +0021270B 00000258 bzone (bzone): : Vid::Init

ERR | ExceptionHandler:193 |18:57:45|5546 |00BAE1AB +0025E1AB 0000018C bzone (bzone): : Main::CoreSystemInit

ERR | ExceptionHandler:193 |18:57:45|5571 |009F6D2D +000A6D2D 0000000A bzone (bzone): : AppStart

ERR | ExceptionHandler:193 |18:57:45|5596 |009F72DF +000A72DF 0000022B bzone (bzone): : HandledMain

ERR | ExceptionHandler:193 |18:57:45|5621 |009F3B1C +000A3B1C 0000006B bzone (bzone): : WinMain

ERR | ExceptionHandler:193 |18:57:45|5646 |009A9B85 +00059B85 00000125 bzone (bzone): : __tmainCRTStartup

ERR | ExceptionHandler:193 |18:57:45|5671 |76DF3744 +00013744 00000024 KERNEL32 (KERNEL32): : BaseThreadInitThunk

ERR | ExceptionHandler:193 |18:57:45|5696 |7744A064 +0005A064 000000D4 ntdll (ntdll): : RtlSetCurrentTransaction

ERR | ExceptionHandler:193 |18:57:45|5721 |7744A02F +0005A02F 0000009F ntdll (ntdll): : RtlSetCurrentTransaction

DIAG| log:1380 |18:57:45|5746 |End of line...
DIAG| DXUT:2097 |18:57:45|5797 | DXUT pause on change device
DIAG| DXUT:2314 |18:57:45|5825 | DXUT unpause on change device failure 0x80040905
DIAG| DXUT:2097 |18:57:45|5846 | DXUT pause on change device
DIAG| DXUT:2314 |18:57:45|5871 | DXUT unpause on change device failure 0x80040905
DIAG| DXUT:2097 |18:57:45|5928 | DXUT pause on change device
DIAG| DXUT:2314 |18:57:46|5958 | DXUT unpause on change device failure 0x80040905
DIAG| DXUT:2097 |18:57:46|5980 | DXUT pause on change device
DIAG| DXUT:2314 |18:57:46|6004 | DXUT unpause on change device failure 0x80040905

Specs:
Win 10 Pro 64bit OS
i5 3570K @4.5Ghz CPU
16GB DDR31600 Corsair RAM
MSI Z77A-G41 MOBO
Crucial 256GB SSD | 500GB WD HDD
EVGA REF GTX-970 4GB ACX 2.1 GPU
27" LG D2743 Cinema 3D IPS LED @1920x1080 60Hz
ASUS Xonar DGX APU
Cable Internet - 35Mb/6Mb

User avatar
MrTwosheds
Recycler
Posts: 3059
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 am
Location: Outer Space
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7a130 Public Alpha released

Post by MrTwosheds » Sun Nov 15, 2015 1:31 am

a shame though, many who play BZ2 still use XP unfortunately
Degenerate retro's hell bent of slowing the virtual economy down! Naive geeks thinking that buying something actually gave them the right to use it....
Virus scanner reports no threats found once again, boring! :) Goes off to play with the thoroughly "still owned by MS" win 8.1 OEM in the hope that it will once again throw up yet another fascinating and highly technical obstacle to my pathetic attempts to upgrade it. Great security, shame about the users, a try before you buy operating system, just what nobody needed.
The Silence continues. The War Of Lies has no end.

User avatar
Red Devil
Recycler
Posts: 4398
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 5:10 pm
Location: High in the Rocky Mountains

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7a130 Public Alpha released

Post by Red Devil » Sun Nov 15, 2015 1:50 am

loving windows 10; just be sure to turn off the snooping stuff:

http://www.techrepublic.com/article/win ... YHF87e0214
If given the truth, the people can be depended upon to meet any national crisis. The great point is to bring them the real facts - and beer.
Abraham Lincoln

Battlestrat, FE, G66, In The Shadows, Starfleet, Uler, & ZTV

Lifetime member of JBS and NRA

User avatar
Axeminister
Sabre
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 4:03 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7a130 Public Alpha released

Post by Axeminister » Sun Nov 15, 2015 2:07 am

Windy and I played a mpi Dunes, Greenheart variant on extreme.
1). I noticed targeting only has the voice and text in chat box, there is no target . I targeted enemy base for Windy. It says "attack my target" and you can see that the target supposedly was given in the chat box in blue lettering, but there is no red target on her screen. Same thing when she tried to target something for me.
2). I also noticed that when Windy was firing her MDM mortars I was watching her from a sabre and on my screen it looked like there were MDM mortars exploding all in front of her, half way to target and almost to target, but when I looked over at her screen (we play right beside each other) it looked normal, MDM's exploding on the target.
He who does not advance themselves, endlessly becomes themselves.

http://www.reverbnation.com/tunepak/3606640

User avatar
Red Devil
Recycler
Posts: 4398
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 5:10 pm
Location: High in the Rocky Mountains

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.7a130 Public Alpha released

Post by Red Devil » Sun Nov 15, 2015 2:59 am

Vadam wrote:Is there a way to permanently zoom out with the 3rd person camera? It seems to be alot more zoomed in by default now, and using - and + only temporarily solves this.
tried adjusting the new FOV setting on the graphics options page?
If given the truth, the people can be depended upon to meet any national crisis. The great point is to bring them the real facts - and beer.
Abraham Lincoln

Battlestrat, FE, G66, In The Shadows, Starfleet, Uler, & ZTV

Lifetime member of JBS and NRA

Post Reply