Battlezone II v1.3.6.2 Public Beta released

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

User avatar
MrTwosheds
Recycler
Posts: 3059
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 am
Location: Outer Space
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.2 Public Beta released

Post by MrTwosheds » Tue Aug 09, 2011 11:58 am

On machines were it happens, it would be more accurate to describe the correct display of skins in shell as intermittent, This seems to happen 97% of the time on my rig with the older video card. Still cannot identify any particular circumstance that may effect wether it happens or not.

ADMIRAL MANSON
Thunderbolt
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 4:54 am
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.2 Public Beta released

Post by ADMIRAL MANSON » Wed Aug 10, 2011 12:34 am

Well I just downloaded and installed the patch and looking forward to some fresh gaming with no bans atm. Where can i find the name extender thingy that allows you to have a longer nick?

User avatar
Zax
Attila
Posts: 1388
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:56 am

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.2 Public Beta released

Post by Zax » Wed Aug 10, 2011 3:01 am

ADMIRAL MANSON wrote:Well I just downloaded and installed the patch and looking forward to some fresh gaming with no bans atm. Where can i find the name extender thingy that allows you to have a longer nick?
I'm not a fan of those, since it allows people to hide if they are scion or ISDF.

User avatar
MrTwosheds
Recycler
Posts: 3059
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 am
Location: Outer Space
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.2 Public Beta released

Post by MrTwosheds » Wed Aug 10, 2011 4:15 pm

The editor appears to have problems with deleting objects saved on a map, they are still there after you save and reload, bzn may be buggy after you do this, -nobodyhome to clear all objects should sort it out.

User avatar
GSH
Patch Creator
Posts: 2479
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:55 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.2 Public Beta released

Post by GSH » Wed Aug 10, 2011 4:36 pm

MTS- where are you saving from the editor? If you're saving to a folder under ProgramFiles, Vista/Win7 will lie and park the changed file elsewhere. Try saving to Desktop and/or $MyDocs, then copy that back under ProgramFiles.

-- GSH

User avatar
MrTwosheds
Recycler
Posts: 3059
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 am
Location: Outer Space
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.2 Public Beta released

Post by MrTwosheds » Wed Aug 10, 2011 5:07 pm

Im using xp, files are saved under battlezone2/los/missions etc etc.
Bug 217
I added some boulders to a map, saved, later decided to remove them, deleted, saved, when map is reopened in the editor they are still there but now they are red on radar, and have become team 15, further attempts to delete things have the same result, they remain on the map when it is reloaded, The ascii .bzn seems to be getting messed up by this.
I mention it here because anyone making maps may not notice what's happening.
I first noticed it removing objects from a map, and then completely from the mod too, and then I was unable to open the map in the editor again, because objects still in the bzn no longer existed.
-nobodyhome gets rid of all objects and allows the map to be opened again. Editor delete is not functioning correctly.
I think this is the same issue I had trying to fix locridge a while ago, where objects were having the same seqno

Map makers may need to add all objects to a map in one editor session, and/or not change their mind and try to delete objects.

User avatar
MrTwosheds
Recycler
Posts: 3059
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 am
Location: Outer Space
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.2 Public Beta released

Post by MrTwosheds » Thu Aug 11, 2011 11:03 pm

Seems I may have found another issue too.
Timeout trying to connect, I keep seeing servers that I timeout on, but then later can join, first I though it was just iffy connections and then it happened to me, as a server you see a client connected msg but they do not join, so I tried connecting to myself, after this happened, with my other pc and could not, internet through gamespy would timeout and tcp/ip could not see my other pc at all!
I suspect this may be triggered by failing to connect to another server in some way before starting your own one, as that seems to be what I am doing before the issue happens to me.
eg. trying to connect to a gamespy listed server that has crashed and left a ghost session up may well then cause your server to timeout clients.
Not raised a Boog yets, hoping for input from others...(lol)

Restarting bz2 clears the issue.

User avatar
Zax
Attila
Posts: 1388
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:56 am

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.2 Public Beta released

Post by Zax » Thu Aug 11, 2011 11:19 pm

Might need extra logging for that one.

User avatar
MrTwosheds
Recycler
Posts: 3059
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 am
Location: Outer Space
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.2 Public Beta released

Post by MrTwosheds » Sat Aug 13, 2011 2:13 am

Had another occurrence of the timeout boog today, after an unsuccessful attempt to join a server (timeout/cancel join) My own server would not allow others to join, client connected is displayed, but all connections to me fail.
This sort of booger can really only be caught in the wild. Chat logs don't tell me much.

Hybirdisdf
Scrap
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:06 am

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.2 Public Beta released

Post by Hybirdisdf » Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:11 am

I was playing on insane variant with normal bz2.I notice something wrong with laser popper archer.What happen is that laser popper archer shooting on ground instead of attack enemy units.

User avatar
MrTwosheds
Recycler
Posts: 3059
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 am
Location: Outer Space
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.2 Public Beta released

Post by MrTwosheds » Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:37 am

At a guess, I would expect that is the archer choosing to do an arcing style shot (normal for archers) while using a weapon that only works if you aim directly at an enemy.

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.2 Public Beta released

Post by General BlackDragon » Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:46 pm

ran into another issue in the editor.

If the sky has lightning, when it first strikes it changes sky.ambientcolor to 0 0 0, and even in the editor you can't change it after that. It's like it gets locked to 0 0 0.

Lightning shouldn't be messing with ambient color, should it? :-/

User avatar
MrTwosheds
Recycler
Posts: 3059
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 am
Location: Outer Space
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.2 Public Beta released

Post by MrTwosheds » Wed Aug 17, 2011 6:39 pm

Probably the same issue as the other ambient lighting boogs, a value not being stored quite right, I would guess that anything that changes it is going to end up using the wrong value.

User avatar
TheJamsh
Bull Dog
Posts: 689
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 5:49 pm

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.2 Public Beta released

Post by TheJamsh » Thu Aug 18, 2011 2:25 pm

MrTwoSheds
I noticed that you can fix the 'saving' problem in the editor by saving the map, then returning to the regular game for a few seconds. Its almost like the game is running in multiworld constantly...

Another issue i noticed is that when Multiworld is on, particles keep re-starting from the beginning of their cycle, and hardpoint lights are switch back on even if you pressed the 'L' key to turn them off. I sense this is because of the change made to force particles to stay on in MW. May be worth reverting that change...

User avatar
MrTwosheds
Recycler
Posts: 3059
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 am
Location: Outer Space
Contact:

Re: Battlezone II v1.3.6.2 Public Beta released

Post by MrTwosheds » Thu Aug 18, 2011 3:25 pm

How does returning to the game alter what has been saved?

Post Reply