Per-team colors

Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando

Post Reply
Sigma 27
Drunken Scav
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:21 am

Per-team colors

Post by Sigma 27 » Sun May 28, 2017 7:30 pm

I've been looking to change various colours and I saw this:

Code: Select all

// Per-team colors, even w/ teamplay on. The '0' slot is for the
// commander; 1..4 are thugs. Note - if these are not specified
// (i.e. they're commented out w/ the // at the left end of the line),
// then the TeamColorA/TeamColorB is auto-copied into these values

//TeamColorTeamA0 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA1 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA2 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA3 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA4 = "255 31 31 255" // red

//TeamColorTeamB0 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB1 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB2 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB3 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB4 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
Then I saw this:

Code: Select all

// Teamcolors for MP games. 0 means off, 1 is team colors on,
// individual teams, 2 is team colors on, teamplay colors (teams 1-5
// the same, 6-10 the same). Use -1 for default (BZ2 1.0-1.2 behavior,
// which is 0 in SP, 1 or 2 in MP). Invalid values treated as -1
TeamplayColors = -1
As a result I liked to sound of this and assumed it worked in strategy and MPI games, thus myself and units under my command would be say green and another player and his/her units would be yellow during an MPI game and so on, this is what I think it means. Thus I hoped to change it to this:

Code: Select all

// Per-team colors, even w/ teamplay on. The '0' slot is for the
// commander; 1..4 are thugs. Note - if these are not specified
// (i.e. they're commented out w/ the // at the left end of the line),
// then the TeamColorA/TeamColorB is auto-copied into these values

TeamColorTeamA0 = "255 86 4 255" // orange
TeamColorTeamA1 = "255 249 4 255" // Yellow
TeamColorTeamA2 = "198 0 0 255" // red
TeamColorTeamA3 = "255 128 64 255" // peach
TeamColorTeamA4 = "255 255 255 255" // white

TeamColorTeamB0 = "130 0 157 255" // purple
TeamColorTeamB1 = "0 242 236 255" // cyan
TeamColorTeamB2 = "0 0 198 255" // blue
TeamColorTeamB3 = "211 11 240 255" // lilac
TeamColorTeamB4 = "31 31 31 255" // black
How do I make this work? Whenever I test it in the game I just get the default colours that are selected under:

Code: Select all

// And, for teamplay (i.e. team strat or MPI) games, the teamcolors.
// TeamA is used for teams 1..5, and TeamB is for teams 6..10
TeamColorTeamA = "0 96 0 255" // Dark Green
TeamColorTeamB = "130 0 157 255" // Purple
Any help is appreciated!

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Per-team colors

Post by General BlackDragon » Mon May 29, 2017 1:30 pm

// Default teamcolors for DM/FFA. These will be pushed from the server
// to clients. If you don't like what the server pushed to you as a
// client, look at the console commands game.setdefaultcolors,
// game.setgameprefscolors, game.setservercolors,
// game.swapteamcolors. There are also network chat commands
// "/setdefaultcolors", "/setgameprefscolors", "/setservercolors", and
// "/swapteamcolors" , which do the same thing.

Those commands should set the colors to which settings you wish to use.
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

Sigma 27
Drunken Scav
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:21 am

Re: Per-team colors

Post by Sigma 27 » Mon May 29, 2017 1:43 pm

Those are what I used. However it still uses the same colour for the command and thug commanders. Even with out the // at the start of the line on the TeamColorTeamA0 -4 & B0-1 it has no effect on the game at all.

However, I manage to get the desired effect by changing TeamplayColors to 1

Code: Select all

// Teamcolors for MP games. 0 means off, 1 is team colors on,
// individual teams, 2 is team colors on, teamplay colors (teams 1-5
// the same, 6-10 the same). Use -1 for default (BZ2 1.0-1.2 behavior,
// which is 0 in SP, 1 or 2 in MP). Invalid values treated as -1
TeamplayColors = 1
and setting the FFA colors to this.

Code: Select all

// FFA & DM colors, one per team.
TeamColorFFA0 = "31 31 31 255" // black
TeamColorFFA1 = "255 86 4 255" // orange
TeamColorFFA2 = "255 249 4 255" // Yellow
TeamColorFFA3 = "198 0 0 255" // red
TeamColorFFA4 = "255 128 64 255" // peach
TeamColorFFA5 = "255 255 255 255" // white
TeamColorFFA6 = "130 0 157 255" // purple
TeamColorFFA7 = "0 242 236 255" // cyan
TeamColorFFA8 = "0 0 198 255" // blue
TeamColorFFA9 = "236 50 245 255" // lilac
TeamColorFFA10= "108 68 68 255" // Brown red
TeamColorFFA11= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA12= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA13= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA14= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
TeamColorFFA15= "  0   0   0   0" // no special color
But I'm still confused as to what this would be used for instead.

Code: Select all

// Per-team colors, even w/ teamplay on. The '0' slot is for the
// commander; 1..4 are thugs. Note - if these are not specified
// (i.e. they're commented out w/ the // at the left end of the line),
// then the TeamColorA/TeamColorB is auto-copied into these values

//TeamColorTeamA0 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA1 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA2 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA3 = "255 31 31 255" // red
//TeamColorTeamA4 = "255 31 31 255" // red

//TeamColorTeamB0 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB1 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB2 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB3 = "31 31 255 255" // blue
//TeamColorTeamB4 = "31 31 255 255" // blue

User avatar
General BlackDragon
Flying Mauler
Posts: 2406
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
Contact:

Re: Per-team colors

Post by General BlackDragon » Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:48 am

Teamplay, (ST, Team DM, etc) where everyone is usually Red or Blue. That bit allows you to varry it up a bit. (light blue, dark blue, blue ish? etc)
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****

Sigma 27
Drunken Scav
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:21 am

Re: Per-team colors

Post by Sigma 27 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 2:38 pm

I really apologise for reviving this, but it is on the same topic.

With the:
// Teamcolors for MP games. 0 means off, 1 is team colors on,
// individual teams, 2 is team colors on, teamplay colors (teams 1-5
// the same, 6-10 the same). Use -1 for default (BZ2 1.0-1.2 behavior,
// which is 0 in SP, 1 or 2 in MP). Invalid values treated as -1
TeamplayColors = 1

I am able to use "game.setgameprefscolors" and all the others by using the games console. But is it possible to do the same with "Teamplaycolors" or is that only possible within the file?

Got this question by messing about with the same file but for the BZCC version :).

User avatar
Ded10c
Recycler
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:05 am
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Contact:

Re: Per-team colors

Post by Ded10c » Fri Aug 10, 2018 3:41 pm

The console command you're looking for is "game.teamcolors".
battlezone.wikia.com needs your help!

Sigma 27
Drunken Scav
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:21 am

Re: Per-team colors

Post by Sigma 27 » Mon Aug 13, 2018 3:19 pm

Ded10c wrote:
Fri Aug 10, 2018 3:41 pm
The console command you're looking for is "game.teamcolors".
Thank you very much! :D

Post Reply