Implementing a race
Moderators: GSH, VSMIT, Red Devil, Commando
Implementing a race
I've been fixing up an old mod that I like for quite a while. In the mod there is a previously unplayable race that I'm attempting to make playable. When I select them in Instant Action it works perfectly, but when I select one of their units in Multiplayer, the game claims my team has no commander and won't start. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Starfleet 0.8 - Almost done!
- General BlackDragon
- Flying Mauler
- Posts: 2408
- Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
- Contact:
Re: Implementing a race
make sure the appropriate *vrecy* is there, for whichever recycler variant is selected. Default is *vrecy_m , but there are many...
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****
*****General BlackDragon*****
Re: Implementing a race
Adding more recy variants nailed that problem, but a new one occurred. Whenever I try to join a game hosted by my friend (or if he tries to join one hosted by me), the game freezes and crashes. Here's the error that popped up.
Code: Select all
---- Battlezone II Log File ----
//=====================================================
App version: bzone 1.3.6.3d Public Beta Apr 27 2013 21:37:19
Windows version: Windows Version: 6.1.7601 'Service Pack 1' PlatformID=2
Last few battlezone.log lines (may or may not be relevant):
DIAG| WSInterface:199 |16:13:20|16337 |Determined public IP address: 97.102.2.112
DIAG| NetCommands:2061 |16:13:35|31001 |Join to 'sf test' / ip 0x00000000
DIAG| NetCommands:2061 |16:13:37|32523 |Join to 'sf test' / ip 0x00000000
DIAG| SessionMgr:585 |16:13:37|32529 |pSessionAddr = '99.141.21.36:17770'. pNiceName = 'sf test'
DIAG| RaknetManager:448 |16:13:37|32830 |Raknet connect incoming with status code 16
DIAG| RaknetManager:493 |16:13:38|33900 |Raknet Nat punchthru succeeded code 67
DIAG| RaknetManager:448 |16:13:38|34231 |Raknet connect incoming with status code 16
DIAG| iface:1430 |16:13:38|34364 |UnsetModal: throwing away [AskPassword]
(done)
Exception code: C0000005 (ACCESS VIOLATION) READING from 00000000h
Message : Exception
Error occurred at 5/18/2013 16:13:40.
C:\Battlezone SF\bzone.exe, run by Zen.
C:\Battlezone SF\bzone.exe, run by Zen.
CPU: 2 processor(s), Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
x86 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
Process Memory : 1599 MB free out of 2048 MB total
Physical memory: 1630 MB free out of 3328 MB total
Page(swap) file: 4131 MB free out of 6653 MB total
This exe is using 122 MB (20 MB dlmalloc), peak use 122 MB
Fault address: 00247427 01:000E6427 C:\Battlezone SF\bzone.exe
Registers:
EAX:00000000
EBX:00000000
ECX:216AB3A0
EDX:0619DECD
ESI:0CD16DD0
EDI:00000001
CS:EIP:001B:00247427
SS:ESP:0023:0619DFD8 EBP:0CE66688
DS:0023 ES:0023 FS:003B GS:0000
Flags:00210206
Call stack:
Address Offset1 Offset2 Module SourceFile
00247427 +000E7427 0000012A bzone (bzone): : NetManager::Commands::SetupShellForClient
002629A3 +0
Starfleet 0.8 - Almost done!
- Zero Angel
- Attila
- Posts: 1536
- Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:54 am
- Contact:
Re: Implementing a race
Have you tried removing Starfleet's custom shell to see if that's causing any problems?
You can always put it back later, and then narrow down what the problem is.
You can always put it back later, and then narrow down what the problem is.
Regulators
Regulate any stealin' of this biometal pool, we're damn good, too
But you can't be any geek off the street
Gotta be handy with the chains if you know what I mean
Earn your keep
Regulate any stealin' of this biometal pool, we're damn good, too
But you can't be any geek off the street
Gotta be handy with the chains if you know what I mean
Earn your keep
- General BlackDragon
- Flying Mauler
- Posts: 2408
- Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
- Contact:
Re: Implementing a race
Problem appears to be in the UI somewhere. Maybe remove the cfg part of SF for now?
I've got a 1.3 SF Work in Progress somewhere on my pc. Greenheart and I were working on it, but there wasn't much demand.
I've got a 1.3 SF Work in Progress somewhere on my pc. Greenheart and I were working on it, but there wasn't much demand.
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****
*****General BlackDragon*****
Re: Implementing a race
I'll try both of your ideas. Hopefully one of them will solve it. My testing is a bit limited, since the guy who helps me test it isn't available much. What does your work in progress of sf add? Maybe we can combine them, just a thought though.
Starfleet 0.8 - Almost done!
- General BlackDragon
- Flying Mauler
- Posts: 2408
- Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 6:37 am
- Contact:
Re: Implementing a race
It's just trying to get Starfleet 0.7 working in 1.3
Battlezone Classic Public Forums
*****General BlackDragon*****
*****General BlackDragon*****
- Zero Angel
- Attila
- Posts: 1536
- Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:54 am
- Contact:
Re: Implementing a race
My guess is that the problem lies somewhere in the client-side multiplayer cfgs (in the stock 1.3 shell, the client cfgs are designed to display the settings that the host has selected). You may be able to re-implement all of the starfleet cfgs up until the multiplayer ones (which you'll have to exclude or rename so that it falls back to using the normal 1.3 ones). For the most part, this should not change functionality and you will still be able to retain the green shell design (since that one is stored in bzgame_init.cfg), at which point you can copy the stock 1.3 multiplayer cfgs and modify those ones where necessary (e.g. to exclude recycler variant selection and all other superfluous options)
Regulators
Regulate any stealin' of this biometal pool, we're damn good, too
But you can't be any geek off the street
Gotta be handy with the chains if you know what I mean
Earn your keep
Regulate any stealin' of this biometal pool, we're damn good, too
But you can't be any geek off the street
Gotta be handy with the chains if you know what I mean
Earn your keep
Re: Implementing a race
I'll try that when I can, but like I said before, it might be a bit before I can get results due to the absence of the guy who helps me test.
Starfleet 0.8 - Almost done!
- Zero Angel
- Attila
- Posts: 1536
- Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:54 am
- Contact:
Re: Implementing a race
You could also try launching two different BZ2 sessions. I believe you can do that from the same computer.
Regulators
Regulate any stealin' of this biometal pool, we're damn good, too
But you can't be any geek off the street
Gotta be handy with the chains if you know what I mean
Earn your keep
Regulate any stealin' of this biometal pool, we're damn good, too
But you can't be any geek off the street
Gotta be handy with the chains if you know what I mean
Earn your keep
Re: Implementing a race
I yanked the cfgs from Starfleet. When I tried to enter my own game it let me, and even let me enter the world. I'm honestly surprised that had so much impact.
Starfleet 0.8 - Almost done!
- MrTwosheds
- Recycler
- Posts: 3059
- Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:37 am
- Location: Outer Space
- Contact:
Re: Implementing a race
Be warned that many of SF's models are nightmare bodge ups created in threed, expect problems you cannot fix.
The Silence continues. The War Of Lies has no end.
-
- Sabre
- Posts: 205
- Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:17 pm
- Location: Texas
Re: Implementing a race
SF 0.7 is a horribly old mod that hasn't seen any attention in years since its release. And I know what race you're talking about too. I think there was a reason it was never actually made playable because it was never a fully finished race or something.
Come to think of it, this is the first time I've seen this mod in particular being talked about in a very.. very long time..
Come to think of it, this is the first time I've seen this mod in particular being talked about in a very.. very long time..
If you happen to be looking through my posts, I have completely dumped all things related to Battlezone. Do not contact me, do not bother me. Been harassed enough as it is and am done entirely.
Re: Implementing a race
The reason why I'm fixing up this old mod is because for some reason it's always been my favorite mod. I spoke to GBD a while ago, asking if anybody was working on the mod, after he said no, I decided to try to get into modding. The Roton are playable now by the way, and I added a great deal of stuff to them. I would be happy to finish the buildings for them, but that involves modeling, which I have no intentions of going anywhere near due to it's complexity. I've been working on it for months and I could technically just release it now since the ISDF and Scion both work fine, with the exception of a few glitches.
Starfleet 0.8 - Almost done!
- Red Devil
- Recycler
- Posts: 4398
- Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 5:10 pm
- Location: High in the Rocky Mountains
Re: Implementing a race
GreenHeart was working on it awhile back and i got it working well in 1.3 awhile back.
If given the truth, the people can be depended upon to meet any national crisis. The great point is to bring them the real facts - and beer.
Abraham Lincoln
Battlestrat, FE, G66, In The Shadows, Starfleet, Uler, & ZTV
Lifetime member of JBS and NRA
Abraham Lincoln
Battlestrat, FE, G66, In The Shadows, Starfleet, Uler, & ZTV
Lifetime member of JBS and NRA